This is the "Home" page of the "Indian Ocean Region" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Indian Ocean Region   Tags: indian ocean, indian ocean region  

This LibGuide is a resource for identifying books, articles, and primary source documents relating to the Indian Ocean region, and highlights, in particular, strategic considerations of key players, regional cooperative efforts and environmental issues.
Last Updated: Mar 25, 2014 URL: http://usnwc.libguides.com/IndianOcean Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

  IMPORTANT!

Note: Links to the NWC databases will work from off-site via the EZProxy for authorized users only.

(1) Via Blackboard: From Library's home page on the INTERNET, http://www.usnwc.edu/Academics/Library.aspx, select Databases from the navigation menu and choose a database by title from the A-Z List. In the pop-up window, you will be asked to choose an authentication method. Choose Blackboard and then enter your Blackboard Username and Password.  OR: Log into Blackboard; click Library tab near top of page; click A-Z List of Databases; then select the database you wish to search.

(2) CAC option: From Library's home page on the INTERNET, http://www.usnwc.edu/Academics/Library.aspx, select Databases from the navigation menu and choose a database by title from the A-Z List. In the pop-up window, you will be asked to choose an authentication method. Ensure that your CAC is in the CAC reader. Choose CAC and follow the screen directions. You will be ready to search the database you selected.

Please see a Reference Librarian for further information.

Maps/Geography

The Indian Ocean is the world's third largest ocean, and constitutes about 20 percent of the water on the Earth's surface.

It is bounded on the west by East Africa, on the north by India, on the east by Indochina and Australia, and on the south by the Southern Ocean off the coast of Antarctica.

Country Background Notes

Department of State Background Notes; Country and Area Pages

Port Cities of the Indian Ocean

 

Indian Ocean Region LibGuide

      

           Indian Ocean Region

The Indian Ocean region is one of growing geopolitical importance and is characterized by competition and intense rivalries involving both littoral states and external powers. The strategic environment is volatile and a focus of increasing global attention. Eyes are on the emergence of China as a new and powerful regional player seeking to increase its influence in the region.

 

Indian Ocean Region (IOR)

 

                      http://www.lib.utexas.edu/maps 

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip