This is the "Home" page of the "Professional Military Education: The Current Debate" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Professional Military Education: The Current Debate   Tags: military education, pme, professional military education  

This LibGuide provides links to periodical articles, documents, studies, and Websites that explore the state of professional military education as it is today and present the views of those who seek to chart its future course.
Last Updated: Jan 17, 2014 URL: http://usnwc.libguides.com/PME Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Important!

Note: Links to the NWC databases will work from off-site via the EZProxy for authorized users only.

(1) Via Blackboard: From Library's home page on the INTERNET, http://www.usnwc.edu/Academics/Library.aspx, select Databases from the navigation menu and choose a database by title from the A-Z List. In the pop-up window, you will be asked to choose an authentication method. Choose Blackboard and then enter your Blackboard Username and Password.  OR: Log into Blackboard; click Library tab near top of page; click A-Z List of Databases; then select the database you wish to search.

(2) CAC option: From Library's home page on the INTERNET, http://www.usnwc.edu/Academics/Library.aspx, select Databases from the navigation menu and choose a database by title from the A-Z List. In the pop-up window, you will be asked to choose an authentication method. Ensure that your CAC is in the CAC reader. Choose CAC and follow the screen directions. You will be ready to search the database you selected.

Please see a Reference Librarian for further information.

      

    Introduction

    Our military’s service academies and ROTC programs are the best in the world, yet learning must continue as soldiers remain in the service. Warriors matching the strength of a Spartan hoplite, the flexibility of a Roman legionnaire, and the brilliant tactical mind of a Hannibal or Scipio are commissioned every year. As we face new domains of warfare in space and in cyberspace, officers who understand the past and anticipate the future will be well prepared to adapt the world’s finest military to new ways of war.

      Ike Skelton, Former Chairman, House Armed Services Committee  

    The Future of National Defense and the U.S. Military Ten Years after 9/11: Perspectives of Former Chairmen of the Committees on Armed Services, 12 October 2011

     

    As military men and women, ours is the profession of arms. But it’s also a profession of scholarly pursuit. As Thucydides once wrote, ‘The nation that makes great distinction between its scholars and its warriors will have its thinking done by cowards and its fighting done by fools’.

                                                             ADM. James Stavridis

     Let Us Dare. Australian Defence Force Journal, iss. no. 181,
     2010, p. 72

     

    No one could emerge from the experience of the last war without a most profound respect for the contribution to victory made by men trained in the liberal arts.

                                                         Dwight D. Eisenhower

    Liberal Education in the Military Forces,  Journal of General Education, October 1946, p. 1

        

      Center for Joint Professional Military Education (JPME)

      PME = Professional Military Education

      Professional military education (PME) – PME conveys the broad body of knowledge and develops the habits of mind essential to the military professional’s expertise in the art and science of war.

                CJCSI 1800.01D CH 1;

                 15 September 2011; GL-8

                        (see link below)

      Description

      Loading  Loading...

      Tip