The Learning Commons is a dynamic learning environment intended to engage students in meaningful ways outside of the classroom. It serves as a campus crossroads—a hub of activity where students from different backgrounds mix, discover shared interests, and work alone or collaboratively in a comfortable, welcoming environment.
Partners
The U.S. Naval War College has adopted the Learning Commons model, centralizing the Library, Writing Center, Information Resources Department (IRD), and other academic services to support and enhance teaching, learning, and research. This new approach redirects library activities from service to learning outcomes and begins engaging others in a more participatory and inclusive planning process. The success of this new endeavor depends on collaboration among several offices, departments, and programs across campus.
Our transformation from a Library to a Learning Commons forms new partnerships with the Information Resources Department (IRD), Writing Center, Dean of Students, Bookstore, and Café. Two integrated help desks on the main and mid-levels provide centralized assistance for library research and technology support.
What will you find in the Learning Commons?
|
Naval Historical Collection
Established in 1969 as part of the NWC Library, the Naval Historical Collection (NHC) is composed of the U.S. Naval War College (NWC) Archives and the NHC Manuscript Collection, which includes an Oral History collection, a Rare Book Collection, and numerous small special collections relating to the history of the NWC, naval warfare, and the history of the Navy in Narragansett Bay. While the NHC remains located in Mahan Hall, it is part of the NWC Library and a partner in the Learning Commons integrated “circle of services.”
Website: https://usnwcarchive.org
Email: NHC@usnwc.edu
Writing Center
The Writing Center provides support to students who wish to enhance their writing skills, as well as for those who are having difficulty writing critically and analytically, or whose first language is not English. Services include a range of programs:
• Workshops
• One-on-one and small-group consultations
• Faculty development in teaching and curriculum development
• Research support
Schedule an appointment with the Writing Center online through the Writing Center course in Blackboard or here:
https://www.usnwc.edu/WritingCenter
Contact information
| Library Director, H-L123 841-3397 https://www.usnwc.edu/Academics/Library.aspx |
Bookstore Manager, H-128 841-1281 |
| Writing Center Director, H-130 841-6499 https://www.usnwc.edu/Academics/WritingCenter.aspx |
Café Manager, H-113 841-4655 |
| Dean of Students, H-135 841-6594 https://www.usnwc.edu/Students/U-S--Resident-Students.aspx |
Chief Information Officer, H-L162 841-6555 |
| Head Archivist, N-11 841-2435 https://usnwcarchive.org |