Skip to main content

Help, Guides and Instructions: Off-Campus Access

This Research Guide helps patrons of the NWC Library make the most of their library experience by introducing important databases and resources available to them. It serves as a starting place to learn how to use the library online catalog and databases.

How to get started

Note: Links to the NWC databases will work from off-site via the EZProxy for authorized users only.

(1) Via Blackboard: From Library's home page on the INTERNET, http://www.usnwc.edu/Learning-commons, select Databases from the navigation menu and choose a database by title from the A-Z List. In the pop-up window, you will be asked to choose an authentication method. Choose Blackboard and then enter your Blackboard Username and Password.  OR: Log into Blackboard; click Library tab near top of page; click A-Z List of Databases; then select the database you wish to search.

(2) CAC option: From Library's home page on the INTERNET, http://www.usnwc.edu/Learning-commons, select Databases from the navigation menu and choose a database by title from the A-Z List. In the pop-up window, you will be asked to choose an authentication method. Ensure that your CAC is in the CAC reader. Choose CAC and follow the screen directions. You will be ready to search the database you selected.

Please see a Reference Librarian for further information.

Problems Connecting?

All resources can be accessed through the Naval War College Library's Internet homepage.  From off campus you must be authenticated through your Blackboard account or through your CAC card.  If you are experiencing any problems:

1) via CAC

If you cannot access the website through CAC authentication successfully, please contact the IRD Help Desk:

Phone: 401-841-4900

Email: helpdesk@usnwc.edu


2) via BlackBoard

If you cannot access Blackboard successfully, please contact the BlackBoard coordinator:

Phone: 401-841-4078

Additional Assistance:   Blackboard Help


**NWC Alumni: You will receive an error message if you have not registered for database access or if you attempt to access a database not licensed for alumni use. Please visit the Lifelong Learning Resources for NWC Alumni site to register online for database access or obtain further assistance.

For additional assistance

Ways to Get Research Help

REFERENCE SERVICES

Four Ways to Get Research Help


 

Visit Us

 At the Service Desk

 Monday-Friday, 0730-1630


 

Call Us

401.841.3052 or 401.841.4551


 

Email Us

libref@usnwc.edu


 

Ask a  Librarian

http://usnwc.libanswers.com/

SMS Phone (Text  us)

401.415.7051