Skip to main content

Help, Guides and Instructions: eBooks

This Research Guide helps patrons of the NWC Library make the most of their library experience by introducing important databases and resources available to them. It serves as a starting place to learn how to use the library online catalog and databases.

NWC Library eBook Databases

The Naval War College subscribes to four databases that provide electronic books (eBooks) to the college community. These four eBook databases require a bit of adjustment in terms of how they are used. The four eBook databases, eBrary, EBSCOhost, OECD and ACLS Humanities are all described in depth in the boxes below.                     

What is a platform and why does it make working with eBooks seem so difficult?

Each of the four NWC library databases that contain eBooks allow the user to search titles and content but have variations in how the information is searched, printed and stored because they are built on different platforms.   A platform is simply an interface upon which any database is structured. Now that you understand this, don't be intimidated by the world of electronic books.  You may find that you use the content of one database more regularly than the others, and therefore become more comfortable with its platform. 

Reader's tip:  To expand your eBook reading experience, talk to your local public library staff  and ask them what type of reading device is best for checking out books from their eBook collections. They will be able to teach you how to use their databases and platforms.   

EBSCOhost eBooks

OECD iLibrary eBooks

OECD iLibrary

The OECD iLibrary is the online library of the Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD).  In this unique forum, the governments of 34 democracies with market economies work together, as well as with more than 70 non-member economies to promote economic growth, prosperity, and sustainable development. 

 

  • OECD features eBooks, articles, working papers, reports, and statistics
  • Subjects include energy, agriculture, environment, finance, trade, and investment
  • No option to download
  • Formatted to read online
  • Some documents can be saved as PDF files
  • Easy to search
  • Search by subject, country, or both

Look Inside (READ online iconRead icon image):

The “look inside” option is offered on many of the OECD iLibrary eBooks and enables you to read online the complete text of a publication, including the Table of Contents. The eBooks can be read online wherever there is an internet connection - desktop computer, tablets or smart phones. They are also shareable can be embedded.

Apps for EBSCO eBooks

 

Useful Apps that you will need to download EBSCO eBooks to your iPad or Android tablet:

Bluefire Reader -- free app for iPods, iPads, Android devices (required for EBSCO ebook and ebrary ebook downloads to Apple or Android devices)

http://itunes.apple.com/us/app/bluefire-reader/id394275498?mt=8

https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.bluefirereader

 

You will need to create an Adobe ID in order to download EBSCO ebooks to your device. Use the link below:

https://www.adobe.com/cfusion/membership/index.cfm?nl=1&nf=1

 

Useful Apps that you will need to download EBSCO eBooks to computers and eReaders (not Kindle*)

You will need to download the Adobe Digital Editions software in order to download EBSCO ebooks to your computer and transfer to compatible devices (not available for Kindle*). Use the link below:

http://www.adobe.com/products/digital-editions.html#fp

 

Link to EBSCO ebook collection. While connected through NWC account, create a personal EBSCO account. You will need this to download ebooks.

http://search.ebscohost.com/?authtype=ip&profile=ehost&defaultdb=nlebk

 

 Useful Apps for eBooks you may have downloaded from your public library:

Overdrive Media Console -- free app for Apple & Android devices

http://itunes.apple.com/us/app/id366869252?mt=8

 

*NOTE:  Kindle Fire devices support Bluefire Reader software to download eBooks.  

 

 

 

Apps for Ebook Central eBooks

 

Useful Apps that you will need to download Ebook Central eBooks to your iPad or Android tablet:

Bluefire Reader -- free app for iPods, iPads, Android devices (required for Ebook Central ebook and downloads to Apple or Android devices)

http://itunes.apple.com/us/app/bluefire-reader/id394275498?mt=8

https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.bluefirereader

 

You will need to create an Adobe ID in order to download EBSCO ebooks to your device. Use the link below:

https://www.adobe.com/cfusion/membership/index.cfm?nl=1&nf=1
 

Useful Apps that you will need to download Ebook Central eBooks to computers and eReaders (not Kindle*)
You will need to download the Adobe Digital Editions software in order to download Ebook Central ebooks to your computer and transfer to compatible devices (not available for Kindle*). Use the link below:

http://www.adobe.com/products/digital-editions.html#fp

 

Link to Ebook Central ebook collection. While connected through NWC account, create a personal Ebrary account. You will need this to download ebooks.

https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/navwarcol-ebooks/home.action?ebraryDocId=null

 

Useful Apps for eBooks you may have downloaded from your public library:

Overdrive Media Console -- free app for Apple & Android devices

http://itunes.apple.com/us/app/id366869252?mt=8
 

  *NOTE:  Kindle Fire devices support Bluefire Reader software to download eBooks.  

 

 

 

Searching the NWC Library Collections for eBooks

SUMMON POWER SEARCH

Click on the "Summon Power Search" tab on the Library Homepage to search for eBooks:

 

 

 

Once on the Summon Power Search homepage, click on the  symbol to access the Advanced Search option:

 

 

 

 

 

 

On the Advanced Search page, enter your search terms in the search fields provided, such as a title of the book under the "Title" box, search by subject under "Subject Terms," or a general search under "All Fields."

 

 

 

 

 

Once you have entered your search terms, REFINE YOUR SEARCH by limiting the Content Type to "Book/eBook" or "Electronic Resource.":

 

 

 

     

 

 

This should limit your results to eBooks in our collections.

 

 

 

LIBRARY CATALOG (CLASSIC)

Click on the "Library Catalog (Classic)" tab on the Library Homepage to access the Catalog:

 

 

 

 

 

 

Once inside the catalog, click on the Power Search link on the top of the page under the Quick Search box:

 

 

 

 

 

On the Power Search page,  enter your search terms in the search fields provided, such as a title of a book under the "Title" box, search by subject under "Subject," or a general search term under "Words or Phrase."

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Once you have entered your search terms, REFINE YOUR SEARCH by limiting the Collection Type to Electronic Book or Electronic Resource:

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

This should limit your results to eBooks in our collections.

 

 

Ebook Central eBooks

ACLS Humanities eBooks


 

ACLS Humanities E-Book Collection

This comprehensive electronic library consists of scholarly and peer reviewed books in the humanities.   This collection of seminal works represents the best of the humanities from the disciplines of law, medicine, anthropology, history and philosophy from the 1880s to the present. These titles are sought out by scholars and students because they are often cited in research. Search ACLS when looking for any major humanities title that NWC Library does not have in its print collections.

  • ACLS books cannot be checked out or downloaded in their entirety
  • Ten pages at a time can be printed or saved to a digital file

 

Printing in ACLS Humanities eBook Collection:

You can print one page at a time when viewing the e-book in image or text mode. Print from your web browser as you would any other webpage.

 

Downloading from ACLS Humanities eBook Collection:

If you see the  icon, it is possible to download 10 pages of the e-book in PDF at a time. While viewing any page in the e-book, look for the  icon at the top right of the page. From the drop-down menu, select PDF. This will display the current page plus the subsequent pages in PDF within the browser. You can then print the file as you would any other PDF.

You can e-mail or transfer  PDFs to Amazon Kindle and other devices. Download and install the free software program Adobe Digital Editions to transfer the PDF to other e-readers or mobile devices.

BlueFire Reader Support Center

Searching Ebook Central

Searching ACLS Humanities eBooks

Click on ACLS Humanities Ebooks (or, to find the collection from the Library's homepage, click on "Library Databases", and then "E" for all eBook databases, then choose the ACLS Humanities collection). Once you are in the collection, click on search. You will get a search form:

That allows you to perform a basic search. Use pulldown menus to search in the fulltext or by field, or search in the entire collection of ACLS Humanities E-books or a special collection (i.e. Cambridge Film Classics, John Harvard Library). Click on More Tips if you want to get the most out of your search.

Results display in simple format:

Click on the Table of Contents link to navigate chapter by chapter.

Searching OECD iLibrary

Adobe Digital Editions

Bluefire Reader

FREE eBook Collections

    

       

 

 

Free eBooks to view online!