Skip to main content

Help, Guides and Instructions: Jane's Online

This Research Guide helps patrons of the NWC Library make the most of their library experience by introducing important databases and resources available to them. It serves as a starting place to learn how to use the library online catalog and databases.

How to Access Jane's Online

Why Jane's Online?


Jane's Online provides news and analysis on global issues relating to security and defense issues. The country studies are fact filled reports on a range of data regarding all UN recognized countries. The content is updated regularly and contains an archive of content back to the late 1980s.

Accessing Jane's Online

  • From the NWC intranet -
    • Go to the NWC Library home page listed under the Library Commons tab and click on the link to take you to the Internet page.
    • Click on the Library Databases link to access the A to Z List. Select Jane's Online.
  • From the internet -
    • Click on the Library Databases link on the Library Homepage.
    • From off-campus: Access the databases through EZProxy by using Blackboard or CAC login options.

How to Search Jane's Online

How to Search Janes' Online

  • Select the Search Option on the top right side of the screen to search the entire Jane’s database.
  • Click the "Search More Options" link on the bottom of the Search box to search by subject or to search the Terrorism Events database.

Basic Search

  • Separate search terms with AND to search for both terms; use OR to search for either term.
  • Searching for a phrase such as "precision munitions" requires the use of quotation marks. 
  • Choose to search all content or only those parts of Jane’s to which NWC subscribes.
  • Click on the "Help" link next to the "More Search Options" link on the bottom right side of the search box for more ways to create search terms.

Search Jane’s Publications by Title 

  • Under "My Subscriptions", select  By A-Z to search within a specific publication.
  • For Myanmar country defense information, scroll down to Sentinel Security Assessment - Southeast Asia
  • Click on Country, select Mynamar

Search an Intel Centre

  • Intel Centres can be accessed and searched separately.
  • You can find 2 modules:
    • Defence Budgets
    • Defence Industry & Markets Intelligence Center