Skip to main content

Help, Guides and Instructions: LexisNexis Academic

This Research Guide helps patrons of the NWC Library make the most of their library experience by introducing important databases and resources available to them. It serves as a starting place to learn how to use the library online catalog and databases.

How to Access LexisNexis

Why LexisNexis

The LexisNexis database provides full-text access to a wide range of news, current events, business, legal, and reference information.

Accessing LexisNexis Academic

  • From the NWC intranet
    • Go to the NWC Library home page by clicking on the Learning Commons tab and following the link.
    • From there, click on the Library Databases link on the right hand side of the screen to access the databases.
  • From the internet
    •  Click on the Library Databases link on the right hand side of the screen under Search & Find
    • From off-campus: Use your Blackboard login information or your CAC login for remote access.

How to Search LexisNexis Academic

Searching Lexis Nexis Academic

 

 

 

Advanced Search

 


 

How to Search LexisNexis Academic

  •  

SEARCHING LEXISNEXIS ACADEMIC  

 

 

Terms and Connectors Basics

  • AND, OR
    • "Naval" AND "Warfare" finds articles containing both terms naval or warfare finds articles containing either term
  • QUOTATION MARKS ARE NOT REQUIRED; Two or more terms can be used in proximity without quotation marks.
    • Naval Warfare searches for the phrase naval warfare
  • Use w/n to find terms within “n” number of words of each other in either direction.
    • Law w/3 sea finds law within 3 words of sea
    • Weapons w/3 destruction finds weapons within 3 words of destruction
  • Use ! to truncate terms. LexisNexis Academic searches for terms with variant endings.
    • Terror! finds terror; terrorist; terrorists; terrorism
  • Use * for each letter you need to substitute within a word or at the end of a word.
    • wom*n finds women; woman
    • nav** finds navy; naval; but not navies

 

Finding a Specific Source

To search a specific source such as the New York Times, enter the title in the Select Source box. To find a specific source, click on the Find Sources link.

Example: Results for searching: Security and Satellite!

Checking the boxes to the left of the title tags items. You can save, email, and print tagged items.