Skip to main content

Help, Guides and Instructions: EBSCO

This Research Guide helps patrons of the NWC Library make the most of their library experience by introducing important databases and resources available to them. It serves as a starting place to learn how to use the library online catalog and databases.

How to Access the EBSCO Databases

EBSCO Military and Government Collection
  • EBSCO Military & Government Collection offers current news pertaining to all branches of the military and government and provides indexing and abstracts for about 400 periodicals, which nearly 300 are available in full-text format. 
How to Access EBSCO: A-Z Library Databases

  

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

From the NWC Intranet:
  • Go to the NWC Library home page by click on the Learning Commons tab and following the link.
  • Click the link to the Library. Once there, click on the Library Databases link to access the A-Z List of Databases.
  • Click the title of either EBSCO database

From the Internet: 

  1. Blackboard option: click on Library tab near top of page, then click on link in the middle of the page for the A-Z List of databases. Then select the database you want to use.

  2. CAC option:
    • Go to the Library's homepage on the Internet 
    • Select Library Databases from the Nav Menu and you get the A-Z List of databases
    • Select a database by title from the list and at that time you should get a Pop-up window asking you to chose authentication method, ensure your CAC is in the CAC reader,
    • Chose CAC and follow the directions on screen and then you should be at your selected database.

 

Searching Tips

To use Advanced Search

  • Click the Advanced Search link below the Find field. 
  • Enter your search terms in the first search box 
  • Select a Boolean operator (AND, OR, NOT) to combine.
  • Choose the search field from the optional Select a Field drop-down list (for example, search in only the "Abstract" field of the citation).

  • If you need additional rows, click the Plus button Plus button. Up to 12 rows can be displayed. To delete a row, click the Minus button Minus button.

Select from the available Search Options:

  • Search modes - Use specific search modes, such as "Find all my search terms," or "SmartText Searching," or use search options that expand your search such as "Apply related words."
  • Limit your results - such as Full Text or Publication type.
  • Special Limiters - Apply limiters specific to a database. If you select a special limiter, it is applied only to the database under which it appears

Using truncation and proximity searches

  1. Using the truncation symbol (*) to get Burma or Burmese
  2. Using the proximity operation to get the words closer together in the content : the Near proximity operation in EBSCO is an “N” with a numeral:
    1. Burma N5 military
    2. “N” will find terms within a certain amount of words of one another regardless of the order in which they appear 

Other Limiters:

  1. Limit to "Scholarly" (peer reviewed) materials
  2. Limit by  Publication Date
  3. Limit search by Abstract or author- supplied abstract
  4. The Within Operator (“W”) finds terms within a certain amount of words of one another in the order in which you used them

How to Search the EBSCO Databases