Skip to main content

Help, Guides and Instructions: JSTOR

This Research Guide helps patrons of the NWC Library make the most of their library experience by introducing important databases and resources available to them. It serves as a starting place to learn how to use the library online catalog and databases.

How to Access JSTOR

Why JSTOR?

JSTOR is an archive of scholarly journals that are accessible electronically.  JSTOR IS NOT A CURRENT ISSUES DATABASE.  There is typically a lag time of 1 to 5 years before articles are released to JSTOR.  JSTOR can provide valuable access to journals not found in NWC Library’s print collection.

Accessing JSTOR

  • From the NWC intranet 
    • Go to the NWC Library home page by clicking on the Learning Commons tab and following the link.
    • From there, click on the Library Databases link on the right hand side of the screen to access the databases.
  • From the internet -
    • Click on the Library Databases link on the right hand side of the screen under the header Databases.
    • If off-campus, login using your Blackboard account or CAC card for remote access to the database.

How to Search JSTOR

Basic Search

  • Enter one or more search terms in the query box on the main page. Click the blue "Search" button to start your search.

Advanced Search

  • More specific searches can be done by using the Advanced Search options. Advanced searches can be further limited by type of material, dates, language, publication, and discipline.

Searching Tips (Search Term Operators)

  • Use quotation marks ("") to search for a phrase
    • "Human rights" "National Security," "Women’s League of Burma," etc
  • Use Boolean operators AND, OR, NOT to combine terms
    • Myanmar AND Rohingya, 
    • Myanmar OR Burma searches for either word
  • One term followed by another assumes the AND operator
    • Myanmar military finds Myanmar AND Military
  • Use a question mark (?) for one character or an asterisk (*) for variant endings
    • Defen?e = Defense, Defence
    • Nav* = Navy, Naval, Navigate
  • Use the number sign (#) for stem searching
    • Goose# = Goose, Geese, and Goslin
  • Use quotation marks ("") and the tilde (~) to search for words near one another
    • “Burma ecology”~10 searches for the word Burma within 10 words of the word ecology

Search Results

Search Results

JSTOR automatically sorts the results by relevance. You can sort you results by:

  • Journals
  • Books
  • Pamplhlets
  • Newest
  • Oldest


Save Your Results

  • You can view, save, email or export citation your individual search results


MyJSTOR Account

MyJSTOR

  • You can also save articles and searches in your personal MyJSTOR account for future use.
    • Login to MyJstor using the link at the top right of the page.
    • To creat an account:  the Login page has a registration link.

Saving to MyJSTOR

  • When you are logged in you can save selected items into your MyJstor account.



Accessing your saved citations in MyJSTOR

  • To access saved items, after logging in, click on the saved citations link next to the JSTOR logo at the top right of the page.