Skip to main content

Help, Guides and Instructions: Library Catalog/Summon Search

This Research Guide helps patrons of the NWC Library make the most of their library experience by introducing important databases and resources available to them. It serves as a starting place to learn how to use the library online catalog and databases.

How to Search for Books Using Summon Power Search

IT'S EASY SEARCHING FOR BOOKS USING SUMMON POWER SEARCH!

All of the NWC Library catalog holdings can be searched using Summon Power Search.  Summon Power Search is a search function that can search the library catalog, the library's databases, and more!

 

ACCESSING SUMMON POWER SEARCH

From within the Naval War College via the Intranet, go to the NWC Library <<home page>> listed under Learning Commons  and click on the NWC Library link. . This will take you to the public Internet page for the library, where you can access Power Search by clicking on the Summon Power Search link on the right hand side of the page, or simply typing in your search term in the search box located in the middle of the homepage screen.

From outside the Naval War College via the Internet, go to the NWC Library <<home page>> and  clicking on the Summon Power Search link, or simply typing in your search term in the search box located in the middle of the homepage screen.

 

SEARCH USING SUMMON

Click here to learn more about searching for books and more using Summon.

 

CLASSIC SEARCH

For a search using the classic library catalog, read below for more information.

 

How to Search for Books Using the Online Catalog (Classic Search)

The NWC Library Catalog is the contemporary version of the card catalog that provides the titles of books and documents held by the library and their location in the collection.

 

ACCESSING THE LIBRARY CATALOG

From within the Naval War College via the Intranet, go to the NWC Library <<home page>> listed under Learning Commons  and click on the NWC Library link. . This will take you to the public Internet page for the library, where you can access the catalog by clicking on the NWC Library Catalog (Classic) link on the right hand side of the page.

From outside the Naval War College via the Internet, go to the NWC Library <<home page>> and  clicking on the NWC Library Catalog (Classic) link.

 

SEARCHING THE ONLINE CATALOG

Basic Search (Quick Search)

Use the search box from the library home page for a general keyword search.  In keyword searching, the library catalog assumes the AND operator between two terms and recognizes the use of the Boolean operators OR and NOT between terms. Use quotation marks (" ") to search for a phrase of two or more words. The wildcard operator * may be used for truncation.

Example: General keyword search for "Military Leadership"

From the list of books generated from your search, click on the Title of a book to learn where the item is held in the library.

*NOTE: Notice the MATERIALCALL NO., and LOCATION of the item. The General Collection is on the lower level of the Library and these books can be checked out. There are 12 collections in the Naval War College Library. Note that you may not check out the items in some collections. If the status of the item is checked out then you may click Place Hold to recall the book; you will be notified via e-mail when the material is ready for you to pick up at the Service Desk.

*NOTE: Books in STORAGE

Under the Collection heading, you may find that the item you want is in storage:

  • Storage New England Depository
  • Storage Book Cataloging
  • Storage Conolly Vault

Click on Place Hold if a book you want is located in storage. You will receive an e-mail notifying you the item is available for pick-up at the Service Desk (same or next day for onsite storage or up to 3 business days for off-site storage).

 

Advanced Search (Power Search)

Use the Power Search option to locate materials when you know the Author or the Title of the book. From the Library Catalog home page, click on the Power Search link under the Quick Search box in the middle of the page.  


 

 

 

CREATE A BOOK LIST

Use the Book List function to save your search results. You must first log in to your account to save your list.  Click the +My List button for each title that you want to save. You may have several different booklists in your account by creating new file names for each list.