Skip to main content

Help, Guides and Instructions: EBSCO eBooks

This Research Guide helps patrons of the NWC Library make the most of their library experience by introducing important databases and resources available to them. It serves as a starting place to learn how to use the library online catalog and databases.

EBSCO eBooks

The EBSCOhost eBook Collection is a large collection of books on regional and country topics, including current issues in military and security studies.  For more help, see the EBSCOhost instruction sheets.  An NWC reference librarian can help you refine your EBSCOhost eBook Collection searches.

•    Use the Sign In link to create an account from any EBSCO database
•    Sections of EBSCO eBooks can be downloaded, printed, saved, or emailed
     without check out
•    Creating an account requires Apple/iTunes account
•    Titles can be downloaded (checked out) for a specified period
•    Downloading to iPad requires a personal account
•    Check out to iPad requires  BlueFire reader app from the iPad app store
•    Reading online on a  MAC requires Schubert/IT plugin
•    Downloading to desktop PC requires Adobe Digital Editions
•    USE EBSCO help pages in the database for quick reference on the details

Access the database here: 

EBSCO eBooks

Apps for EBSCO eBooks


Useful Apps that you will need to download EBSCO eBooks to your iPad or Android tablet:

Bluefire Reader -- free app for iPods, iPads, Android devices (required for EBSCO ebook and ebrary ebook downloads to Apple or Android devices)


You will need to create an Adobe ID in order to download EBSCO ebooks to your device. Use the link below:


Useful Apps that you will need to download EBSCO eBooks to computers and eReaders (not Kindle*)

You will need to download the Adobe Digital Editions software in order to download EBSCO ebooks to your computer and transfer to compatible devices (not available for Kindle*). Use the link below:


Link to EBSCO ebook collection. While connected through NWC account, create a personal EBSCO account. You will need this to download ebooks.


 Useful Apps for eBooks you may have downloaded from your public library:

Overdrive Media Console -- free app for Apple & Android devices


*NOTE:  Kindle Fire devices support Bluefire Reader software to download eBooks.  




Search EBSCO eBooks

Research databases
Limit Your Results




Questions about our eBooks??

 The Reference Staff is available during normal library hours:

M-Fri 7:30am-4:30pm


Or call us at 401-841-3052/ 401-841-4551

Email us at



Or use our Ask a Librarian module: