How to Use this LibGuide
This LibGuide is an aid to those looking for information on the Middle East. It collocates generally useful information in one location. It contains links to websites, newsfeeds, the library catalog, and suggested databases. It is not a bibliography, but rather a starting place for research on the Middle East that we think you will find useful. Click on the tabs above to explore other pages of this guide.
We welcome your feedback!
Internet Quick Reference
- CIA World Factbook: Middle East
- CountryWatch
- Europa World Plus: The Middle East and North Africa
- Jane's Sentinel Country Risk Assessment -- Eastern Mediterranean
- Jane's Sentinel Country Risk Assessment -- The Gulf States
- Jane's Sentinel Country Risk Assessments -- North Africa
- Jane's Sentinel Country Risk Assessment -- Russia and the CIS
- Oxford Islamic Studies Online
- University of Pennsylvania: African Studies Center: Country Pages
- Perry-CastaƱeda Library Map Collection: Middle East
Off Campus Access
Many of the links to databases and the NWC catalog in this LibGuide will not work outside of the NWC network . NWC students, faculty, and staff have off-base access to six databases: EBSCOhost, Jane's Online, JSTOR, Lexis-Nexis, ProQuest and STRATFOR. Please contact a reference librarian for help accessing these databases from off-base if you are resident NWC student, faculty, or staff. If you are a CDE student please contact the CDE department.
The Middle East
The term "Middle East" is used to refer to often differing countries located in North Africa, the Persian Gulf Region, and Southwest Asia. Because definitions vary greatly this LibGuide will cover the region based on a broad definition. A broad definition of the Greater Middle East would include the states listed below.
- Fertile Crescent: Israel, Lebanon, Jordan, Syria,Turkey
- North Africa: Algeria, Libya, Morocco, Sudan, Tunisia
- Southwest Asia: Afghanistan, Bahrain, Egypt, Iran, Iraq, Kuwait, Kyrgiztan, Oman, Pakistan, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, United Arab Emirates (UAE), Uzbekistan, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan, Yemen
Quick Reference Books
For quick, general information about the Middle East consult these resources located in the Naval War College Library reference collection.
- Encyclopaedia JudaicaReference Collection
DS102.8 .E496 2007 - The Encyclopedia of the Arab-Israeli Conflict : a Political, Social, and Military HistoryReference Collection
DS119.7 .E5653 2008 - Encyclopedia of the Modern Middle East & North AfricaReference Collection
DS43 .E53 2004 - The Essential Middle EastReference Collection
DS43 .H57 2003 - The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Modern Islamic WorldReference Collection
DS35.53 .O95 2001
My Profile |
Links: Profile & Guides |
Need HELP?
Contact us!
U.S. Naval War College
Reference Librarians
Phone: (401) 841-3052
Text: (401) 415-7051
Visit: M-F (0700-1630)
You can search our FAQ using this search box:


Loading...
