This is the "Home" page of the "Afghanistan" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Afghanistan   Tags: afghanistan, war in afghanistan  

Afghanistan is of strategic importance as it connects the Middle East with Central Asia and the Indian subcontinent. This guide provides links to books, websites, articles, and reports on this country and the conflicts that have destroyed much of it
Last Updated: Mar 18, 2014 URL: http://usnwc.libguides.com/Afghanistan Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Reference Librarian
 

*IMPORTANT!

Note: Links to the NWC databases will work from off-site via the EZProxy for authorized users only.

(1) Via Blackboard: From Library's home page on the INTERNET, http://www.usnwc.edu/Academics/Library.aspx, select Databases from the navigation menu and choose a database by title from the A-Z List. In the pop-up window, you will be asked to choose an authentication method. Choose Blackboard and then enter your Blackboard Username and Password.  OR: Log into Blackboard; click Library tab near top of page; click A-Z List of Databases; then select the database you wish to search.

(2) CAC option: From Library's home page on the INTERNET, http://www.usnwc.edu/Academics/Library.aspx, select Databases from the navigation menu and choose a database by title from the A-Z List. In the pop-up window, you will be asked to choose an authentication method. Ensure that your CAC is in the CAC reader. Choose CAC and follow the screen directions. You will be ready to search the database you selected.

Please see a Reference Librarian for further information.

State Department Background Notes

Library of Congress Country Study

 

Islamic Republic of Afghanistan

A mountainous and land-locked country in South-Central Asia, Afghanistan is of strategic importance as it connects the Middle East with Central Asia and the Indian subcontinent. For the last several decades it has been in a continuous state of war and in 2001 the object of a U.S.-led invasion that toppled the Taliban regime.

The NATO–led International Security Assistance Force (ISAF) was created on 20 December 2001 by the UN Security Council, S/RES/1386 (2001), in an effort to maintain security in a region rife with all manner of conflict and intrigue. Efforts by the international community have been underway to rebuild the country, establish stability and effective governmental authority, and end the Taliban insurgency. 

July 2011 was the target date for the initial drawdown of U.S. troops from Afghanistan. At this point, however, serious challenges remain. More than two decades of conflict have destroyed much of Afghanistan’s limited infrastructure and disrupted normal patterns of social, political, and economic activity, and there still exists a Taliban insurgency that continues to threaten stability in the region.

 

Commanders' Areas of Responsibility

 

USCENTCOM Area of Responsibility (AOR)

CENTCOM's Digital Engagement Team

 

CENTCOM RSSF Feed

Loading Loading...
blank padding
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip