NAVY GENERAL LIBRARY PROGRAM
HOW TO ACCESS NGLP RESOURCES THROUGH NKO:
See the list of resources at right.
WHO IS ELIGIBLE?
Navy, Marine Corps and Coast Guard personnel including: Active-duty; Retired/Reserve military personnel; Dependents; Naval Academy Midshipmen; DoN Delayed Entry Program personnel; GS civilians; NAF employees; DoN contractors
There are tens of thousands of e-books and audio books available for you to borrow through the NGLP subscription to OverDrive -- fiction, nonfiction, and special collections that include almost every title on the Professional Reading Lists. Authenticate through Navy Knowledge Online to initially setup a username/password for the Navy OverDrive site. Once you create a username and password account, you can access the Navy Overdrive collections without a CAC by logging in directly at http://navy.lib.overdrive.com. See the Navy OverDrive Help site for details.
FOLLOW THE NKO LOGIN INSTRUCTIONS AT TOP FOR THIS AND OTHER NGLP RESOURCES
Through a DoD MWR Library initiative, many of these resources are also available through Military OneSource (www.militaryonesource.com) and the other service portals. Resources available only through NKO are noted.
Academic OneFile (Gale)
A resource for peer-reviewed, full-text journals and reference sources, Academic OneFile is an Online General Reference Service. It’s a sophisticated, current and easy-to-use resource for extensive research. With millions of articles available in both PDF and HTML full text, researchers are able to find accurate information quickly.
Ancestry Database (NKO only)
U.S. Federal Census; American Genealogical Biographical Index; Map Center; WWI Draft Registrations; Immigrants to New England; Slave Narratives
Audio Book Cloud (TumbleTalkingBooks)
This collection of streaming audio books includes unabridged, high-quality audio versions of American and world literature classics, non-fiction, fiction, and children and teen books.
Auto Repair Reference Center (Ebscohost)
Contains information on most major manufacturers of domestic and imported vehicles. Database content includes more than 31,660 vehicles covered from 1945 to present, more than 205,000 drawings and step-by-step photographs, more than 130,000 enhanced wiring diagrams, and so much more.
BYKI – Recreational Foreign Language Learning (NKO only)
now called “Transparent Language”
Byki Online is more than just a flash card program; it is a rapid language instructional system for learning language. Byki Online provides blogs, words of the day, language overviews, and active social language communities that make the user part of a worldwide learning community. It’s available in more than 40 languages.
CountryWatch
CountryWatch provides critical country-specific intelligence and data through its suite of products to more than 4,000 clients, including public and private sector organizations with overseas operations and global interests.
CultureGrams
Concise, reliable and up-to-date reports on more than 200 countries, each U.S. state and all 13 Canadian provinces and territories. CultureGrams includes Our World, Kids, States and Provinces editions, plus a worldwide photo gallery, recipes and much more.
Ebsco Ebooks
Almost 3,000 eBooks, eJournals and eDatabases with a wide array of content, including children’s classics, health and medicine, mystery and suspense, study aids, travel and leisure, and much more. Download eAudiobooks or view eBooks and eJournals online.
Military OneSource offers the DoD collection; NKO offers both the DoD Collection and the Navy collection.
Ebsco MasterFile Premier
MasterFILE Premier provides full text for magazines, reference books, and primary source documents. Nearly 1,700 full-text journals are included.
Fold 3 (NKO only)
Searching for your family history? Footnote.com helps you find and share historic documents, including never-before-seen historic documents through partnerships with the National Archives, the Library of Congress and other institutions.
Health and Wellness Database (NKO only)
HeritageQuest (ProQuest)
Find your family history through the census (1790-1930), family histories, journal articles, and originals documents from the Revolutionary War and the Freedman’s Bank.
Home Improvement Reference Center (Ebscohost) (NKO only)
Access 26 major reference works in full-text, with more than 10,000 images and full-text magazines (e.g., This Old House) for home improvement assistance on maintenance, remodeling, electrical work, plumbing, decorating home and garden, etc.
Junior Edition – K12 (Gale)
Designed for junior high and middle school students, InfoTrac Junior Edition features full-text titles that support school curriculum, including major magazines, newspapers and reference works. Students will gain 24/7 access to the detailed information they need for homework assignments and general reference questions.
Kids InfoBits (Gale)
Includes more than 100 full-text, age-appropriate magazines, more than 6,400 searchable, indexed images, Merriam-Webster’s Elementary Dictionary and 1,200 maps, flags and seals, and more than 1,700 colorful charts and graphs. Broad subject categories include animals, arts and entertainment, geography, health, history and social studies, inventions and technology, plants, people, science and math, sports, stories and literature and transportation.
Library, Information Science and Technology Abstracts (EBSOC)
LISTA indexes more than 560 core journals, nearly 50 priority journals, and nearly 125 selective journals, as well as books, research reports and proceedings. Subject coverage includes librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management and more. Coverage in the database extends back as far as the mid-1960s. It is EBSCO Publishing's intention to provide access to LISTA on a continual basis atwww.libraryresearch.com. Customers currently subscribing to other EBSCOhost databases may elect to have LISTA added to their EBSCOhost profile.
Library Press Display FULL IMAGES -- 2200 Newspapers from around the Globe -- 97 countries, 54 Languages!
Military and Intelligence Database (Gale)
More than 500 journal titles selected to meet the content needs of libraries serving military personnel.
Military Periodical Database (Proquest) – NKO only
370 full text journals in subjects directly affecting your career and education. Another 145 titles are indexed only.
Military Times Publications (NewsBank)
NewsBank offers searching of the Army Times, Air Force Times, Navy Times,Marine Corps Times and Federal Times from November 2001 to date. Articles from prior issues are provided at no cost to end users.
Morningstar Investment Research Center
Get comprehensive financial information on stocks and mutual funds. Morningstar is your one-stop shop for investment learning. Whether you’re looking to buy or sell, let Morningstar provide you with trusted and reliable information.
MyiLibrary Audio and Ebooks
Academic ebooks to help you with that “hard-to-find” information.
NetLibrary – now “Ebsco Ebooks”
Almost 3,000 eBooks, eJournals and eDatabases with a wide array of content, including children’s classics, health and medicine, mystery and suspense, study aids, travel and leisure and much more. Download eAudiobooks, or view eBooks and eJournals online.
Military OneSource offers the DoD collection; NKO offers both the DoD collection and the Navy collection.
Newsbank (NKO only)
More than 3,000 sources – full-text U.S. and English language international newspapers of interest to the U.S. Navy.
Newsbank America’s Obits (NKO only)
Full-text obituaries from U.S. newspapers
Peterson’s Lifelong Learning Resource Center
Practice CLEP, DANTES, ASVAB, SAT tests and much more.
Peterson’s Online Academic Skills Course
Build your math and verbal skills to excel in your job, pass your exam, advance your career, or continue your education. The Peterson’s Online Academic Skills Course diagnoses your current level of reading comprehension, vocabulary and math skills, and teaches you the concepts and skills needed to increase your proficiency in each of these academic areas. This course is free for service members and their families. Just click to get started!
Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center (Gale)
Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center is a database covering today’s social issues, from terrorism to endangered species, and stem cell research to gun control. Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center helps students develop critical-thinking and information literacy skills by bringing together a variety of information on social issues.
Overdrive Ebooks/Audio Books (NKO only)
Downloadable audio books and ebooks – including all Navy Professional Reading Program titles, foreign languages, current fiction, and best selling non-fiction.
Safari Books
This library contains books and videos. Search across thousands of books from O’Reilly, Addison-Wesley, Cisco Press, Microsoft Press and more through this e-reference library. View videos, or read books cover-to-cover or flip directly to the section you need in seconds. Also provided by DoD MWR libraries.
Small Engine Repair Reference Center (Ebscohost)
This library contains 410 full-text reference books with original photos and illustrations for small engine repair assistance, including ATVs, commercial mowers, generators, motorcycles, marine, outdoor power equipment, PWC (personal watercraft/jet ski), snow blowers, tillers, and other small engines.
Student Resource Center – GOLD (Gale)
Aimed at middle school and high school students, the Student Resource Center includes content based on national curriculum standards in major subject areas, such as history, literature, science, and social studies. It also comes with the ability to find relevant search results quickly and easily across all Gale electronic products.
Teacher Reference Center (Ebscohost)
The Teacher Reference Center provides indexing and abstracts for more than 270 of the most popular teacher and administrator journals and magazines to assist professional educators.
Transparent Language (NKO only)
Transparent Language is more than just a flash card program; it is a rapid language instructional system for learning language. Byki Online provides blogs, words of the day, language overviews, active social language communities that make the user part of a worldwide learning community, and is available in more than 80 languages. Mobile App – take it on the road!
TumbleBook Library for Beginning Readers
Picture/Easy Reader ebooks for kids – read aloud on your computer. Read, listen and play games. For children ages 3-12.
Tumble Book Cloud (TumbleReadables)
An online collection of read-along titles for elementary, middle school and high school students. TumbleReadables features adjustable online text and complete audio narration.
Tutor.com
Provides, online tutoring, homework help and test preparation in math, science, English and social studies, 24/7/365. Help from a professional tutor anytime you need it. Tutor.com may also be accessed at www.tutor.com/military.
Universal Class – Recorded Books (NKO only)
More than 500 classes on a variety of topics. Take a class in how to use Excel or learn about bartending. Lifelong learning at its best!
Virtual Reference Library (Gale) (NKO only)
Provides access to more than 1,500 electronic reference titles – eBooks – in virtually any subject, including health, science, art, history, biography and much more.
Military OneSource has the DoD Collection; Navy Knowledge Online has both the DoD Collection and the Navy Collection.
Zinio Magazine Collection Dozens of popular magazines, hobby magazines and news magazines, with full color page display of entire issues. Reading apps are available to support download to numerous mobile devices.