Alumni Lifelong Learning Resources: Open Access Databases (no CAC required)

The Archive of European Integration (AEI) is an electronic repository and archive for research materials on the topic of European integration and unification. The AEI collects two types of materials: certain types of independently-produced research materials and official European Community/European Union documents

Key documents in Law, History and Diplomacy, from ancient times to present.

The World Factbook provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities. Reference tabs include: maps of the major world regions, as well as Flags of the World, a Physical Map of the World, a Political Map of the World, a World Oceans map, and a Standard Time Zones of the World map.

Combined Arms Research Library (CARL) Digital Library, includes the collections of Combined General Staff College Master of Military Art and Science Theses, and School of Advanced Military Studies Monographs.

The Congressional Research Service (a division of the Library of Congress) provides high-quality research and analysis for committees and members of Congress. These reports, studies, and issue briefs are succinct and well-researched and many are regularly updated. Unfortunately, they are not centrally published, but this link provides a portal to numerous collections of CRS reports.

CORE (COnnecting REpositories) aims to facilitate free access to scholarly publications distributed across many systems. As of today, CORE gives you access to millions of scholarly articles aggregated from many Open Access repositories. CORE is a U.K. based-service that retrieves documents from many non-U.S. research institutions.

The DARPA Open Catalog organizes publicly releasable material from DARPA programs.

Cross-searchable network of Bepress Digital Commons scholarly repositories.

9,709 Open Access scholarly journals, from 133 Countries in multiple languages, full text for more than 1.5 million articles

Free Open Access Database. The Defense Technical Information Center (DTIC®) serves the DoD community as the largest central resource for DoD and government-funded scientific, technical, engineering, and business related information available today .

"The Empirical Studies of Conflict Project (ESOC) identifies, compiles, and analyzes micro-level conflict data and information on insurgency, civil war, and other sources of politically motivated violence worldwide. ESOC empowers the nation’s best minds with the quality of data and information needed to address some of the most enduring and pressing challenges to international security. Ultimately, ESOC is committed to providing war fighters and policy makers with greater expert analyses and recommendations for responding to security threats."

The GPO's search engine for U.S. Government Documents provides free online access to official publications from all three branches of the Federal Government.

One of the most comprehensive search engines for scholarly resources on any topic. Full-text links are included for open access materials.

Search the open access portion of the HSDL collections.

A phenomenal collection of public domain texts, audio collections and video collections.

"We are a not-for-profit organization that believes everyone should be able to read and understand the laws that govern them, without cost. We carry out this vision by:
Publishing law online, for free; Creating materials that help people understand law; Exploring new technologies that make it easier for people to find the law."

Military Policy Awareness Links and access to current U.S. policy statements accompanied by broad, objective, and comprehensive analysis from a global network of think tanks and research institutes.

View today's front pages from more than 800 newspapers around the world

ODS covers all types of official United Nations documentation, beginning in 1993. Older UN documents are, however, added to the system on a daily basis. ODS also provides access to the resolutions of the General Assembly, Security Council, Economic and Social Council and the Trusteeship Council from 1946 onwards.

Search full-text scholarly content maintained in repositories around the world. View list of participating repositories

"The RAND Corporation is a research organization that develops solutions to public policy challenges to help make communities throughout the world safer and more secure, healthier and more prosperous. RAND is nonprofit, nonpartisan, and committed to the public interest."

Social Science Research Network (SSRN) is a world wide collaborative of over 251,500 authors and more than 1.7 million users that is devoted to the rapid worldwide dissemination of social science research. Founded in 1994, it is composed of a number of specialized research networks in each of the social sciences. Each of SSRN's networks encourages the early distribution of research results by reviewing and distributing submitted abstracts and full text papers from scholars around the world. We currently reach over 400,000 people in approximately 140 different countries.

Hosted by Library of Congress, THOMAS can be searched for Bills, Resolutions, Activity in Congress, Congressional Record Schedules, Calendars, Committee Information, Presidential Nominations, and Treaties

TRID provides access to more than one million records of transportation research worldwide.

"The Code contains the general and permanent laws of the United States, organized into titles based on subject matter. The Code currently consists of 51 titles and five appendices. More information on the content of the Code can be found in the Detailed Guide to the Code."

Wolfram|Alpha Computational Knowledge Engine obtains answers by doing dynamic computations based on a vast collection of built-in data, algorithms, and methods.

"The World Bank is the largest single source of development knowledge. The World Bank Open Knowledge Repository (OKR) is The World Bank’s official open access repository for its research outputs and knowledge products."

Free Resource.Search libraries and collections from around the world. Some full-text is available for open source or public domain documents.

WorldWideScience.org is a global science gateway—accelerating scientific discovery and progress through a multilateral partnership to enable federated searching of national and international scientific databases and portals.

A portal to numerous international affairs resources.