This is the "Home" page of the "Maritime Piracy" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Maritime Piracy   Tags: maritime conventions, maritime piracy, piracy, robbery at sea  

This LibGuide provides links to documents such as maritime conventions, United Nations resolutions, and congressional testimony, as well as to maps, books, periodicals, and web sites on the subject of piracy and armed robbery at sea
Last Updated: Jan 17, 2014 URL: http://usnwc.libguides.com/content.php?pid=93214 Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

IMPORTANT!

Note: Links to the NWC databases will work from off-site via the EZProxy for authorized users only.

(1) Via Blackboard: From Library's home page on the INTERNET, http://www.usnwc.edu/Academics/Library.aspx, select Databases from the navigation menu and choose a database by title from the A-Z List. In the pop-up window, you will be asked to choose an authentication method. Choose Blackboard and then enter your Blackboard Username and Password.  OR: Log into Blackboard; click Library tab near top of page; click A-Z List of Databases; then select the database you wish to search.

(2) CAC option: From Library's home page on the INTERNET, http://www.usnwc.edu/Academics/Library.aspx, select Databases from the navigation menu and choose a database by title from the A-Z List. In the pop-up window, you will be asked to choose an authentication method. Ensure that your CAC is in the CAC reader. Choose CAC and follow the screen directions. You will be ready to search the database you selected.

Please see a Reference Librarian for further information.

 

Maritime Piracy

Piracy in International Law, as defined in the 1982 United Nations Convention on the Law of the Sea, Part VII: High Seas

                                                    Article101

                                              Definition of Piracy

 Piracy consists of any of the following acts:

(a) any illegal acts of violence or detention, or any act of depredation, committed for private ends by the crew or the passengers of a private ship or a private aircraft, and directed

        (i) on the high seas, against another ship or aircraft, or against persons or property on board such ship or aircraft;

        (ii) against a ship, aircraft, persons or property in a place outside the jurisdiction of any State;

(b) any act of voluntary participation in the operation of a ship or of an aircraft with knowledge of facts making it a pirate ship or aircraft;

(c) any act of inciting or of intentionally facilitating an act described in subparagraph (a) or (b).

Piracy in Historical Perspective

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip