LibGuides: Alumni Lifelong Learning Resources: Subscription Databases for Alumni (CAC required)

Register for Access to Alumni Databases (CAC Required)

First time users please register below! You will be notified via email once your account is activated. If you cannot see the form in your browser, please send your request for database access to alumni@usnwc.edu and include first name, last name and the email address on your CAC card. (Current students, faculty and staff should not use this form. You have access to an expanded set of databases via the main library website.)

Registration Access Request Form

*Registration and CAC required sites are temporarily unavailable due to technical issues.

Alumni CAC Authentication Instructions for Subscription Databases

When you open a database link at right, you should see a remote authentication screen like the one below. Alumni should select the "CAC Login" button. CHOOSE YOUR EMAIL CERTIFICATE when prompted. You should then be brought directly to the selected database. You will only have to CAC authenticate once during your browser session.

Databases Available to Registered NWC Alumni (CAC Required)

Please be sure you have registered for access using the form at left. You will be notified once your registration is activated.

Upon selecting a database link, you will be prompted to CAC authenticate. SELECT YOUR EMAIL CERTIFICATE. You will only need to authenticate to the first database you access during your browser session.

Archives Unbound
Several archival collections of interest, including records from Persian Gulf War; Papers of the Nixon Administration; Afghanistan and the U.S., 1945-1963: Records of the U.S. State Department Central Classified Files
Asia Studies Fulltext Online
Asia-Studies Full-Text Online is the premier database for the study of modern Asia Pacific. As the exclusive licensee for many of the region's most prestigious research institutions, Asia-Studies.com brings together thousands of full-text reports covering 55 countries on a multitude of business, government, economic, and social issues.
more...less...
Articles can be downloaded in PDF format for offline reading.
Britannica Online Academic Edition
"A combination of Encyclopedia Britannica and the Merriam-Webster Collegiate Dictionary & Thesaurus with access to magazines, periodicals, biographies, news, and more."
Chicago Manual of Style Online
Completely searchable and easy to use, The Chicago Manual of Style Online provides recommendations on editorial style and publishing practices for the digital age. Now offering the full contents of the 16th and 15th editions, it is the must-have reference for everyone who works with words.
Declassified Documents Reference System
DDRS makes possible both broad-based and highly targeted investigation of government documents. Users can query every document in the database for any name, date, word, or phrase. Searches can also be focused according to document type, issue date, source institution, classification level, date declassified, sanitization, completeness, number of pages, and document number. The database ranges from the years immediately following World War II, when declassified documents were first made widely available, through the 1970s. Nearly every major foreign and domestic event of these years is covered: the Cold War, Vietnam, foreign policy shifts, the civil rights movement, and many others.
The FInancial Times Archive, 1888 - 2010
The Financial Times Historical Archive delivers the complete searchable run of the world’s most authoritative daily business newspaper. Every item ever printed in the paper, from 1888-2010, can be searched and browsed article by article and page by page.
more...less...
Articles can be printed, downloaded, or emailed for offline reading.
Military/Government/Defense News Sources
Navy Times, Air Force Times, Marine Corps Times, Army Times, Federal Times, Defense News and others.
Oxford Dictionary of National Biography
The Oxford Dictionary of National Biography is the national record of men and women who have shaped British history and culture, worldwide, from the Romans to the 21st century. The Dictionary offers concise, up-to-date biographies written by named, specialist authors. It is overseen by academic editors at Oxford University, UK, and published by Oxford University Press.
Oxford Islamic Studies
Encompassing over 5,000 A–Z reference entries, chapters from scholarly and introductory works, Qur'anic materials, primary sources, images, maps, and timelines, Oxford Islamic Studies Online offers a multi-layered reference experience designed to provide a first stop for anyone needing information and context on Islam.
STRATFOR Global Intelligence
STRATFOR's experts collect and analyze unclassified intelligence from the international arena on a daily basis.
Times (London) Digital Archive, 1785 to 1985
As the “world’s newspaper of record,” The Times of London has covered all major international events since the French Revolution. The Times Digital Archive, 1785–1985 makes 200 years of this highly regarded resource available for students and researchers of 19th-, 20th-century history, literature, culture, business, art and architecture, and more. Every complete page of every issue is full-text searchable — every headline, article, editorial, announcement, image and advertisement.
World News Digest
"This archival record of domestic and international news is updated weekly and covers all major political, social, and economic events since November 1940."