Articles Archive
This is the "Home" page of the "Military Ethics" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Military Ethics   Tags: ethics, just war, military ethics, war & ethics  

This LibGuide is an aid to those looking for information on Military Ethics. It contains links to websites, newsfeeds, the library catalog, and suggested databases.
Last Updated: Mar 14, 2014 URL: http://usnwc.libguides.com/ethics Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

IMPORTANT!

Note: Links to the NWC databases will work from off-site via the EZProxy for authorized users only.

(1) Via Blackboard: From Library's home page on the INTERNET, http://www.usnwc.edu/Academics/Library.aspx, select Databases from the navigation menu and choose a database by title from the A-Z List. In the pop-up window, you will be asked to choose an authentication method. Choose Blackboard and then enter your Blackboard Username and Password.  OR: Log into Blackboard; click Library tab near top of page; click A-Z List of Databases; then select the database you wish to search.

(2) CAC option: From Library's home page on the INTERNET, http://www.usnwc.edu/Academics/Library.aspx, select Databases from the navigation menu and choose a database by title from the A-Z List. In the pop-up window, you will be asked to choose an authentication method. Ensure that your CAC is in the CAC reader. Choose CAC and follow the screen directions. You will be ready to search the database you selected.

Please see a Reference Librarian for further information. 

.

 

Featured Book

Cover Art
Issues in Military Ethics - Martin L. Cook
ISBN: 9781438446912
Publication Date: 2013-05-01
Martin L. Cook, Adm. James B. Stockdale Professor of Military Ethics at the US Naval War College, has written his latest book that includes reflections on, and analysis of, ethical issues facing military service in the United States.

Welcome!

This LibGuide is intended to provide a few starting points to assist you with your research on issues related to military ethics.  Included in this guide are sources found on the internet such as websites, news & media, videos, etc.; and also a selection of articles and books available from the US Naval War College Library. These sources listed are by no means an extensive bibliography. Many more resources are available that will help you in researching this topic.

 

      
     

    Introduction

    He has integrity if his interest in the good of the Service is at all times greater than his personal pride, and when he holds himself to the same line of duty when unobserved as he would follow if all of his superiors were present.

                     Brigadier General S.L.A. Marshall, The Armed Forces Officer, 1950

     

     

     Military Ethics addresses the moral issues raised by the employment of organized forces of mass destruction.  These issues have been apparent to many cultures throughout the centuries.  Western European thought on the ethics of war is embedded in just war theory, which can be defined as a military action that is justified as being permissible for legal or moral reasons. 

                                                               Encyclopedia of Ethics, 2001, p. 1093.

    Subject Guide

    Profile Image
    Reference Librarian
     

    Related Terms

    Jus Ad Bellum

    Legitimate reasons why and when wars can be morally justified; criteria that render a war just.  Contains several overlapping conditons that include right authority, just cause, appropriate means, no peaceful alternatives, and right intention.

     

    Jus In Bello

    Regulation on how wars are fought irrespective of the reasons for the conflict; what moral standards should or shouldn't govern the conduct of those engaged in war.  Conditions include discrimination or noncombatant immunity, proportionality, and sometimes illegitimate means.


          Encyclopedia of Ethics, 2001, p. 1093

    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip