This is the "Home" page of the "War Gaming" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

War Gaming  

This LibGuide provides links to the Naval War College War Gaming Dept's Web pages, as well as to information on the fundamentals of war gaming and leadership, decision making, operational research and operations analysis in the military & defense arena
Last Updated: Feb 25, 2014 URL: http://usnwc.libguides.com/wargaming Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Information!

Note: Links to the NWC databases will work from off-site via the EZProxy for authorized users only.

(1) Via Blackboard: From Library's home page on the INTERNET,http://www.usnwc.edu/Academics/Library.aspx, select Databases from the navigation menu and choose a database by title from the A-Z List. In the pop-up window, you will be asked to choose an authentication method.  Choose Blackboard  and enter your username and password.  OR Log onto Blackboard; click Library tab near top of page; click A-Z List of Databases; then select the database you wish to search.

(2) CAC option: From Library's home page on the INTERNET, http://www.usnwc.edu/Academics/Library.aspx, select Databases from the navigation menu and choose a database by title from the A-Z List. In the pop-up window, you will be asked to choose an authentication method. Ensure that your CAC is in the CAC reader. Choose CAC and follow the screen directions. You will be ready to search the database you selected.

Please see a Reference Librarian for further information. 

Also: Click the letter i for more information about a particular item.

War Gaming at the Naval War College

The World's Premier Gaming Organization

 

    

                 

  

 

War Gaming

This LibGuide provides links to the Naval War College War Gaming Department’s Web pages, as well as to sites with information on the fundamentals of war gaming, and on leadership, decision making, operational research and operations analysis in the military/defense arena.

An effort has been made to place the concept of war gaming in historical perspective, to link to the current literature, and to demonstrate the application of gaming techniques in non-military activities.

What is a War Game?

 

 War game —   

A simulation, by whatever means, of a military operation involving two or more opposing forces using rules, data, and procedures designed to depict an actual or assumed real life situation.

Operations research —

The analytical study of military problems undertaken to provide responsible commanders and staff agencies with a scientific basis for decision on action to improve military operations. Also called operational research; operations analysis.

 Department of Defense Dictionary of Military and Associated Terms, 8 November 2010, as amended through 15 May 2011; Joint Publication 1-02

Kriegspiel

Kriegspiel, n.

Pronunciation:  /ˈkriːgspiːl/
Etymology:  German, = war-game. 

 1. A game in which blocks representing parts of armies, guns, etc., are moved about on maps. Introduced into the English army after the Franco-German War of 1870.

 2. A form of chess invented about 1900 by M. H. Temple. Two players at separate boards play without seeing or being told each other's moves, though they may ask some strictly limited questions of an umpire who conducts the game at a third board.
  • Refer to OED for word history and usage examples.   
  • Search the online catalog to see use of term Kriegspiel in book titles by Fred T. Jane.     
                     

Historical Perspective

 

"General Rule (to which all others are subject): Nothing may be done contrary to what could or would be done in actual war."  (p. 7)

"The essential idea has been to produce something by which any problems can be worked out with the greatest possible simulation of actuality..."  (Introductory Note, p. 5)
Rules for the Jane Naval War Game (1898)

 

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip