News You Can Use from the Eccles Library

Basic Searching in Primo VE

01/24/2022

Isabel Lopes

No Subjects

Here are some quick tips for making Primo VE searches more successful.

Capitalize Boolean operators, AND, OR, and NOT
Use quotation marks for exact phrases, experiment without them
Use parenthesis for grouping terms within a search

Some examples:

"Maritime Security" AND (fisheries OR "illegal fishing")
"Maritime Security" AND "illegal fishing"
Nigeria AND ("water security" OR "water crisis")
"North Africa" AND water

Limiting Searches

Use the filters on the left to guide your search
When you see the green Apply Filters button, click it
Use the Reset filters button to choose different limiters/filters
Use New Search in the top toolbar to start a new search

Finding Search Tip Documentation

Use the NWC Library Primo VE 101 handout
Performing Basic Searches in Primo VE

Contact us: libref@usnwc.edu
Check out the NYCU Blog: https://usnwc.libguides.com/blog/

This post has no comments.

Commenting on blog posts requires an account.

01/19/2022

Isabel Lopes

No Subjects

The NWC Library has recently added new eBooks to the Jerome E. Levy collection. These eBooks are available on the eBook Central platform on ProQuest. These new acquisitions bring our eBook Central collection to over 350 eBook titles.

Here are some quick facts about using the eBook Central collections.

Find eBook Central titles by subject when searching Primo VE
Go directly into eBook Central from the Electronic Resources A-Z list under "E" and search by subject
Download chapters of the eBooks as a PDF for your personal use
This collection does not download to a device
Click into the title from the results list to find the share link for course materials

Learn more about using the eBook Central collection with this NWC Library Instruction handout.

Contact us: libref@usnwc.edu

This post has no comments.

Commenting on blog posts requires an account.

Subjects

Area Studies

1

Artificial Intelligence

1

Citation Management

4

Country Studies

5

e-Books

3

Geopolitics

1

HeinOnline

1

Intelligence/Counterintelligence

1

Journal Search Strategies

3

Keyword Searching

2

See more...

Tags

research

1

topic

1

paper

1

Recent Posts

Celebrating Peer Review Week 15–19 SEP 2025

This week, the global academic community celebrates Peer Review Week (PRW), an annual event spotlighting the critical role of peer review in upholding quality, trust, and rigor in research. Whether you are an author, reviewer, or editor, your contributions make research stronger and more impactful. This year’s PRW theme "Rethinking Peer Review in the AI Era" invites a timely global dialogue on how artificial intelligence is reshaping the peer review landscape and the broader scholarly publishing ecosystem.Why Peer Review MattersEnsures accuracy, rigor, and credibility in published researchProvides mentoring opportunities for emerging scholarsStrengthens a culture of scholarly collaboration and responsibilityBuilds trust between academia and the publicConversation StartersReflect on your own experiences as an author, reviewer, or editor and share them with colleagues and studentsEncourage early-career researchers to explore opportunities to act as peer reviewersIntegrate discussions of peer review into your courses to model the values of academic integrityExplore and ConnectThis year’s PRW themePRW events and activities Peer Review toolkits, best practices, and guidelinesFurther learning- check out:UC Berkeley Library's Peer Review LibGuidePeer Review the Nuts-and-Bolts: A Guide for Early Career Researchers (Standing up for Science 3, 2017)"The Peer Review Process: Past, Present, and Future" (2024) https://doi.org/10.3389/bjbs.2024.12054 Have any questions?Contact: libref@usnwc.edu *Links are provided for educational purposes and are not an endorsement of the information or services contained therein....

Struggling to Find Research (high-quality) Resources? Try Scopus AI!

So, you have picked your research topic, but an initial resource hunt is not delivering and digging deeper on subscription platforms feels daunting. Let’s make starting your research easier. Reminder: Before using AI tools in your work, consult your professor to confirm whether it’s allowed and to learn the appropriate way to cite it.Meet Scopus AI: Your Academic Resource BoosterScopus AI is designed to simplify the discovery process by letting you type questions in plain language with no need to master Boolean logic or advanced search tricks. Concise summaries with references: Get quick, trustworthy overviews of a topic with linked citations you can pursue. Interactive concept maps: See how ideas, subtopics, and emerging themes connect, helping you branch out into areas you might not have considered. Time-saving discovery: Instead of scrolling through endless results, one query can highlight fresh directions, influential papers, and the top experts in your field. This tool not only makes exploration easier but also helps you jump start your search and build your bibliography with confidence. Pro Tip: Expand Your SearchUse the new keywords and phrases Scopus AI identifies to fuel deeper searches across the NWC Library’s other subscription platforms leveraging the Library's A to Z Resources List. Want to Learn More? Here are some highlights from the Scopus AI vendor: (Image Source: Scopus AI FAQ) Visit the "Scopus" tab on NWC’s Gen AI for Academia’s AI in Library Research Resources tab.Have more questions or want to let us know how Scopus AI works for you? Contact: libref@usnwc.edu ...

Finding Student Paper Topics and Example Papers

In your new student orientation session, some resources were shared with you. One was the JPME Prospective Research Topics Database (PRTD) through the Joint Electronic Library Plus (JEL+). We just received an update we wanted to pass along to you: the J-7 JPME Office this July directed the removal of the outdated PRTD from the JEL+ site.Where can you go to find topic ideas or look over example student papers?The following are some suggestions to find topic ideas to jump start your research or to read example student papers:SECDEF Call for Research Memorandum (12 MAY 2025)- topicsJoint Electronic Library Plus (CAC Access Only)- concepts Defense Technical Information Center (DTIC) - student papers from NWC and other PME institutions (along with technical reports)NWC Library Online Catalog: collection found here or search within NWC Student Papers (by selecting the red circled facet in the image below):Have more questions?Contact: libref@usnwc.edu ...

Introduction to NWC Library Tools

Don't stress about using the NWC Library, there are tools to help with that. Check out the links below to get started.This Panopto video is an introductory guide to the Learning Commons homepage. Logging in requires authentication with CAC or Blackboard. The Google-like search box on the Learning Commons webpage searches the library's online catalog. Experimenting with the online catalog is easy, you can't break it. Use the handouts on this LibGuide to lead the way. The Military Balance is a great resource to find current information on military capabilities across the globe. Use this guide to navigate the Military Balance. The NWC Library has access to the online content of some newspapers. This LibGuide is filled with information about access to newspapers. Book an appointment with a Research & Instruction Librarian: https://usnwc.libguides.com/appointmentsContact: libref@usnwc.edu circdesk@usnwc.edu Problems with access? Contact: libraryfeedback@usnwc.edu...