News You Can Use from the Eccles Library

Citing Personal Communications and Blogs  

There are always those citation problems that leave us unsure about citation styles.  Here are some notes
from the Chicago Manual of Style (CMS).  

Personal Communication, Interview, & Email 

The Chicago Manual of Style offers guidance on how to reference these items. Below are the locations of specific
instructions from CMS Online.     

• Personal Communications  
• Unattributed Interviews
• Published or Broadcast Interviews

Blogs

• Websites, Blogs, and Social Media Defined 
• Citing Blog Posts and Blogs 
• Blog Notes from NPS

Check out the Chicago Manual of Style LibGuide  

Contact:  libref@usnwc.edu

EBSCOhost eBooks 
Check out the EBSCOhost eBooks collection for that extra bit of information you need.  This eBook collection is
available on the Learning Commons and Library homepage via the Electronic Resources A-Z list. 

Access The EBSCOhost eBooks Collection 

• From the Electronic Resources A-Z list on the library's homepage
• Navigate to the "E" section and scroll down to find the EBSCOhost eBooks

 Searching the Collection EBSCOhost eBook Collection   

• Search with the keywords you've been using to search for journal literature 
• Use the drop-down menu to the right to search the text, title, or abstract fields 
• Click into a title from the results list   

Using the eBook

• Open the PDF file on the left
• The publisher permission notes are to the left
• Navigate the sections using the contents on the left  
• You can email some content as a PDF 
• You can download most EBSCO eBooks to a device 
• Google for download instructions by searching "download EBSCO eBooks to device"   
• You can also search "Download EBSCO eBooks to desktop"   
• The top toolbar has operations for copying and exporting the citation 

E-mail Pages 

• There is an operation for emailing pages on the top toolbar 
• Work with the content to find pages to email as a PDF 
• Click into the E-mail Pages operation on the toolbar 
• The notes show number of pages available 
• Include a citation in the body of the email 
• Visit the title again to email more pages

Alternative Access

• The eBook collection can also be selected when searching other EBSCO collections  
• Select the collection from the top of the web page where it says Choose Databases   

Contact: libref@usnwc.edu

Looking for some last-minute reliable information for a paper? Search the ProQuest eBook Central collection. 

ProQuest eBook Central 

This collection is available from the Learning Commons and Library homepage via the Electronic Resources A-Z list.  

Access ProQuest eBook Central   

• From the Electronic Resources A-Z list           
• Navigate to the "E" section and scroll to the eBook Central collection 

Searching the eBook Central Collection   

• Try the keywords you have been using in searching for journal literature
• Don't be afraid to experiment 
• Select a title from the results list by clicking into the title   

Availability Notes   

• Notice the institution access notes under the title
• These titles are not available for full download 
• Scroll down to download chapters as a PDF   
• Download large chapters in sections 
• The citation information is on the left 

Alternative Access  

• Select the book tab from the toolbar when searching the ProQuest Central electronic collections

Contact: libref@usnwc.edu

Military Capabilities
Are you looking for current information on military capabilities? Janes Online and 
The Military Balance are the two recommended resources to use. Both of these
resources can be accesses through the Electronic Resources A-Z list. 

The Military Balance

Looking for an introduction to global defense developments, defense policy and
economics by region?  Check out The Military Balance.

• Published once a year 
• Includes a chapter on military analysis based on current world events and emerging scenarios
• Featuring chapters on military capabilities by region
• A chapter on military analysis based on current world events and emerging scenarios 

Use this handout as an introduction to using the Military Balance. 

Janes Online   

Janes Online is a one-stop resource for defense information. Janes uses guided filters for browsing
selected types of information.  There is also a basic search box at the top. Authentication required
when using Janes.

• Content is updated as new information becomes available
• Use the toolbar at the top right of the page to navigate Janes   
• Select the products section to browse military capabilities information

Use this handout as an introduction to browsing topics in military capabilities in Janes Online. 

Contact:  libref@usnwc.edu