Skip to Main Content

Chicago Manual of Style: Notes and Bibliography Style

Notes, Short notes, and Bibliography: Definition

Footnotes

  • A note at the end of the page when you let your reader know that you are citing the source directly. Sources are cited in numbered footnotes at end of the page.​

Example: Zadie Smith, Swing Time (New York: Penguin Press, 2016), 315.​

Shortened notes

  • The subsequent usage of a source only requires you to use a shortened version of that citation. ​Short-form includes the author’s last name, a shortened version of the title (if longer than four words), and page numbers.​

​Example:  Smith, Swing Time, 320.

Bibliography​

  • A bibliography lists the sources cited in your paper. Each bibliography entry begins with the author’s name and the title of the source, followed by publication details. ​

Example: Smith, Zadie. Swing Time. New York: Penguin Press, 2016.​

Shortened Notes Versus Ibid

Chicago 17th edition discourages the use of ibid. in favor of shortened notes.

Example:

1. Morrison, Beloved, 3.

    

2. Morrison, 18.

or       

2. Ibid., 18.

3. Morrison, 18.

or

3. Ibid. 18

4. Morrison, 24–26.

or

4. Ibid., 24–26.

5. Morrison, Song of Solomon, 401–2.

    

6. Morrison, 433.

or

6. Ibid., 433.

7. Díaz, Oscar Wao, 37–38.

    

8. Morrison, Song of Solomon, 403.

    

9. Díaz, Oscar Wao, 152.

    

10. Díaz, 201–2.

or

10. Ibid., 201–2.

Run-in and Direct Quotations

Run In Quotes

  •  Run-in quotes are incorporated into the surrounding text and enclosed in quotation marks, "like this."

Block Quotes

  • A quotation of five or more lines can generally be set off as a block quotation. 
  • Block quotation format:
    • Start on a new line
    • Indent 1/2" from the left margin
    • Single spaced
    • No quotation marks

Capitalization Rule

Titles mentioned in the text, notes, or bibliography are capitalized “headline-style”: first words of titles and subtitles and any important words thereafter should be capitalized.

Example:

Note

  • Zadie Smith, Swing Time (New York: Penguin Press, 2016), 315–16.

Shortened note

  •  Smith, Swing Time, 320.

Bibliography

  • Smith, Zadie. Swing Time. New York: Penguin Press, 2016.