LibGuides: War Gaming: Electronic Resources

Search Strategies

WAR GAMING is sometimes spelled as one word rather than as two separate words, and a search strategy must take that into account. Also, the placement of an asterisk (*) after "GAM" (GAM*) tells the computer to search for that root word with variant endings:

GAME; GAMES; or GAMING.

In the search box, type the following:

war gam* or wargam*

(Add additional terms as needed, but be sure to separate those terms by typing AND between terms.)

(war gam* or wargam*) AND navy

(war gam* or wargam*) AND navy AND history

Note: The search strategy might have to be tweaked in one or another of the electronic resources.

Additional Keywords/Search Terms

game theor*

management games

modeling

simulation*

ProQuest

This electronic resource serves as the central resource for researchers at all levels. Covers more than 160 subject areas including business, economics, military, news and world affairs, science, telecommunications, etc. through scholarly journals, newspapers, reports, books, magazines, trade publications and videos.

ProQuest Central

EBSCO

Military and defense related periodicals, pamphlets, and newsletters
Historical coverage of U.S. and Canada from prehistory to the present
Global history from 1450 to the present

Digital National Security Archive

Primary documents central to U.S. foreign and military policy since 1945

Digital National Security Archive (DNSA)
Primary documents central to U.S. foreign and military policy since 1945

Diverse collections organized by country, event, or topic:
Afghanistan/ Argentina/ Berlin Crisis/ Chile & the U.S./ China and the U.S./
CIA Covert Ops/ CIA Family Jewels/ Columbia & the U.S./ Cuban Missile Crisis/
Guatemala and the U.S./ El Salvador 1977-1994/ Electronic Surveillance and the NSA/
Iran Revolution/ Iran-Contra Affair/ Iraqgate/
Japan and the U.S., 1960-2000/ Kissinger Telephone Conversations/
Kissinger Transcripts/ Mexico-U.S. Counternarcotics Policy/ National Security Agency/
Nicaragua/ Peru/ Philippines & U.S. Policy/
Presidential Directives/ South Africa/ Soviet Estimate/
Terrorism and U.S. Policy, 1968-2002/ The United States and the Two Koreas/
U.S. Espionage and Intelligence/ U.S. Intelligence & China/
Intelligence Community 1947-1989 & After 9-11/ Weapons of Mass Destruction/
Military Uses of Space/ U.S. Nuclear History/
Nuclear Non-Proliferation/ U.S. Policy in Vietnam War, 1954-1975
Chronologies; glossaries; subject bibliographies
Click Collections Guide for a list and description of the various collections.

Declassified Documents Reference System

Updates the Library’s holdings of the quarterly printed index
(Ref Z 1223 Z7 D4) and the microfiche collection (microfiche 1-2)

Previously classified documents from post-World War II era through the 1970s, many with the original stamps, scribbles, and smudges
Full-text memoranda; reports; letters; cables; and assorted documents

Declassified Documents Reference System

Readers' Guide Retrospective

References to articles on U.S. history and culture found in English language periodicals, 1890-1982

Broad subject coverage in mainstream, popular magazines
Electronic version of the paper index, Readers’ Guide to Periodical Literature (Ref Z 5051 R7)

Readers" Guide Retrospective

Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Reports

Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Reports, 1956 - 1996, is an archive of foreign broadcasts and news, translated into English from media sources outside the United States.