Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Territorial Disputes: The South China Sea: Islands

This Research Guide provides links to primary documents, reports, periodical articles, and books on disputes and state claims in the South China Sea.

Paracel Islands (Xisha Islands; Hoàng Sa Islands)

Sovereignty is disputed by China, Taiwan, and Vietnam.

Pratas Islands (Dongsha Islands)

China/Taiwan sovereignty dispute

Scarborough Shoal/Panatag Shoal (Huangyan Island)

Also referred to as "Minzhu Reef."

Disputed territory claimed by China, Taiwan, and the Philippines

Senkaku/Diaoyu Islands

Three-country dispute over the uninhabited island chain known as the Senkakus in Japan, the Diaoyus in China, and the Tiaoyutai Islands in Taiwan

Spratly Islands (Nansha Islands)

Disputed claims by Brunei, China, Malaysia, the Philippines, Taiwan, and Vietnam