LibGuides: Humanitarian Assistance and Disaster Response (HA/DR): Training Courses

Training from ICRC / UN

ICRC Training Center
The International Committee for the Red Cross (ICRC) Training Center provides on-site training and e-learning modules on international humanitarian law and other areas of the ICRC's work.
UN DSS Online Training Courses
The UN Department of Safety and Security (UNDSS) provides a range of free online courses related to humanitarian personal security and safety in the field.
UN ITAR Learning and Training Courses
The UN's Institute for Training and Research (UNITAR) has a catalogue of online and in person courses on a variety of topics related to the UN system and humanitarian work.
UN OCHA CMCoord Digital Learning Courses
The United Nations Humanitarian Civil-Military Coordination (UN-CMCoord) Digital Learning Courses are a series of free online courses that explore UN-CMCoord concepts and principles and their practical applications in different operating environments.
UN SSC Training Courses
From the UN Systems Staff College (UN SSC) various online and in person training courses are provided that encourage effective leadership and management within the UN system.

Training from Academia

Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center (BIDMC) Fellowship in Disaster Medicine
The BIDMC Fellowship in Disaster Medicine develops the expertise of participants in all aspects of Disaster Medicine, including EMS, humanitarian operations, chemical/biological/radiological/nuclear, & explosives (CBRNE), hospital-based emergency management, disaster simulation, & counter-terrorism medicine.
Building a Better Response Courses (BBR)
The USAID funded Building a Better Response portal provides online foundational training in the international humanitarian coordination system for NGOs and others wishing to improve coordination in disaster response. BBR's implemention is lead by the International Medical Corps (IMC), Concern Worldwide, and the Harvard Humanitarian Initiative (HHI).
Disaster Ready Courses
From The Cornerstone OnDemand Foundation, the Disaster Ready Organization has over 1,000 free online learning resources for humanitarian aid and development professionals.
Future Learn Courses
Future Learn is a platform that gives access to various online learning options that includes humanitarian assistance and disaster response focused course. For example 'Introduction to Humanitarian Aid' from Deakin University, 'Humanitarian Action, Response and Relief' from Coventry University, and 'Introduction to Humanitarian Logistics' from Hanken University.
Geneva Center of Humanitarian Studies
Through research, education, and humanitarian dialogue and exchange, GCHS strengthens the capacity and practice of humanitarian professionals wherever they work to respond effectively to global humanitarian challenges. GCHS is a joint academic and research centre of the University of Geneva and the Graduate Institute of International and Development Studies.
Harvard Humanitarian Initiative Humanitarian Response Intensive Course
The Humanitarian Response Intensive Course provides presentations and hands-on table top exercises offered by expert faculty and guest lecturers. Participants will gain familiarity with the primary frameworks in the humanitarian field and will focus on practical issues that arise in the field. Attendees will also participate in a three-day field simulation exercise at the end of the course
Humanitarian Response to Conflict and Disaster Course
From Harvard Humanitarian Initiative (HHI) and HarvardX, this course explores the ethical and professional principles that guide humanitarian response to conflict and disaster.
The Institute of International Humanitarian Affairs
Fordham University's Institute of International Humanitarian Affairs offers online humanitarian training courses for humanitarian students and practitioners around the world. Each online course are designed to prepare current and future aid workers with the knowledge and skills needed to respond effectively to humanitarian crises and disasters.
University of Manchester Humanitarian and Conflict Response Institute
The Humanitarian and Conflict Response Institute provides a number of in person and online courses focused on the humanitarian sector including on global health and humanitarianism, humanitarian practice, and international disaster management and humanitarian response.

HRP Training

The HRP offers tailored HA/DR education to the U.S. Navy through the following courses.

Fleet Humanitarian Operations Course (FHOC) – Dynamic, tailored, and scalable courses and simulations to prepare U.S. Navy Fleet headquarters and Carrier / Expeditionary Strike Group staffs to effectively plan, execute, and assess HA/DR operations.
Maritime Humanitarian Assistance Survey Team (MarHAST) Course – Commander, U.S. Pacific Fleet-directed course that prepares select personnel from U.S. Navy Fleet headquarters and Carrier / Expeditionary Strike Group staffs to serve as a tactical level reconnaissance and liaison element during HA/DR operations.
Naval War College In-Residence Courses – HRP provide lectures and simulations for CFMCC Flag Courses, ELOC, MOPC, and NWC Master’s Degree Electives.

If you are interested in learning more about these courses, or require a tailored solution to fit your HA/DR education needs, please contact us.

Featured Resources

USAID Humanitarian Assistance Essentials Course (HAE)
USAID's Humanitarian Assistance Essentials (HAE) course is a free online course that covers key information and best practices of USAID and the US Department of Defense (DoD) during disaster relief operations.
USAID BHA Joint Humanitarian Operations Course (JHOC)
USAID Bureau for Humanitarian Assistance (BHA) runs in person and virtual JHOC courses for select U.S. military leaders and planners to discuss the relationship between USAID BHA and the U.S. military; and to prepare participants to work collaboratively during humanitarian assistance disaster response (HA/DR) operations.

UN OCHA CMCoord Training Courses
The United Nations Humanitarian Civil-Military Coordination (UN-CMCoord) Courses explore UN-CMCoord concepts and principles and their practical applications in different operating environments.
CFE-DM Humanitarian Assistance & Disaster Response Courses
The U.S. Department of Defense's Center for Excellent in Disaster Management and Humanitarian Assistance (CFE-DM) provides four courses focused on different aspects of humanitarian response and disaster relief.

Training from Associations / Centers / Institutes

Center for Competence on Humanitarian Negotiation
A joint initiative between HD, ICRC, MSF, UNHCR, and WFP, CCHN offers online and in person training courses focused on humanitarian negotiation practices.
Center for Humanitarian Leadership
The Center for Humanitarian Leadership provides various virtual and in person learning experiences, carefully designed and proven to make participants more effective in their chosen humanitarian field.
FEMA Emergency Management Institute
Various courses from FEMA's EMI focused on domestic disaster response in the US, including foundations of emergency management and operational planning.
GISF | Training Hub
The Global Interagency Security Forum (GISF) training hub provides a wide range of training materials covering many security risk management topics for humanitarian workers. They are based on good practice, and the experience of NGOs and others, in developing and delivering many types of security training.
Institute of Development Studies Humanitarian Learning Resource Guide
Prepared for the UK FCDO, this guide contains Information about free online courses and materials humanitarian practitioners can use to develop or refresh their humanitarian technical competencies.
International Association of Professionals in Humanitarian Assistance & Protection (PHAP)
PHAP provides a range of online and in person training as well as events to those involved in humanitarian response.
NATO Civil-Military Cooperation Center of Excellence (CCOE)
NATO's CCOE offers various courses and training focused on civil-military awareness, interaction and coordination courses.
Peace Operations Training Institute
Peace Operations Training Institute offers various online and in person courses focused on civil-military coordination in peace operations, an overview of the UN system and its principles, human rights and peacekeeping, and humanitarian operations.
RedR
RedR provides training and technical support to NGOs, aid workers, and communities responding to natural and man-made disasters all over the world.
Swedish Armed Forces International Center
The Swedish Armed Forces International Center (SWEDINT) offers online and in person civil military interaction (CMI) courses to give the participants knowledge on co-operation and co-ordination in Peace Support Operations led by the UN, the EU or NATO.
United States Institute of Peace (USIP) Global Campus
The United States Institute of Peace (USIP) offers various online and in person courses from its Global Campus that focus on peace-building, conflict resolution and human security.