The Art and Science of Psychological Operations: Case Studies of Military Application (2 vols) by 
The Clandestine Cold War in Asia, 1945-65 by 
Consulting Psychology in National Security Organizations by 
Ethical Practice in Operational Psychology by 
Gangs and the United States Military by 
The Official CIA Manual of Trickery and Deception by 
Perspectives of Psychological Operations (PSYOP) in Contemporary Conflicts by 
Psychological Operations by 
Psychological Operations: Principles and Case Studies - Fundamental Guide to Philosophy, Concepts, National Policy, Strategic, Tactical, Operational PSYOP by 
Psychological Operations and Political Warfare in Long-Term Strategic Planning by 
Psychological Operations Supporting Counterinsurgency by 
The Psychological War for Vietnam, 1960-1968 by 
PSYOP : Military Psychological Operations Manual by 
Strategic Psychological Operations and American Foreign Policy by 
U.S. Marine Corps Training Manual: Psychological Operations by 
U. S. Military Information Operations in Afghanistan by 
US Army Psychiatry in the Vietnam War by 
War in 140 Characters by 
Becoming Evil by
Political or social groups wanting to commit mass murder on the basis of racial, ethnic or religious differences are never hindered by a lack of willing executioners. In Becoming Evil, social psychologist James Waller uncovers the internal and external factors that can lead ordinary people tocommit extraordinary acts of evil.Waller debunks the common explanations for genocide- group think, psychopathology, unique cultures- and offers a more sophisticated and comprehensive psychological view of how anyone can potentially participate in heinous crimes against humanity. He outlines the evolutionary forces that shapehuman nature, the individual dispositions that are more likely to engage in acts of evil, and the context of cruelty in which these extraordinary acts can emerge. Illustrative eyewitness accounts are presented at the end of each chapter. An important new look at how evil develops, Becoming Evilwill help us understand such tragedies as the Holocaust and recent terrorist events. Waller argues that by becoming more aware of the things that lead to extraordinary evil, we will be less likely to be surprised by it and less likely to be unwitting accomplices through our passivity.
Operational psychology involves the application of behavior to national security, law enforcement, and military operations. Traced back to the 1940's when it was used by the OSS (now known as the CIA), operational psychology blends clinical, forensic, social, and industrial/organizational psychology; and is utilized by Intelligence, Military, and Law Enforcement communities to better understand the mindset and motivation of subjects such as terrorists and or the insider spy.*
This guide provides links to articles, books, news items, and other resources that contain information on subject matter such as cyber psychology, the psychology of terrorism, and the psychology of the insider threat.
*From: Oxford Handbooks Online & http://oppsych.com/about/what-is-operational-psychology/
Subject Specialist:
Dr. Leigh Ann Perry
Associate Professor of Psychology and Behavioral Science
College of Leadership and Ethics
Subject Librarian:
Andrea Groce
Research & Instruction Librarian
Note: Links to the NWC databases will work from off-site via the EZProxy for authorized users only.
(1) Via Blackboard: From Library's home page on the INTERNET, https://usnwc.edu/learning-commons/, select Databases from the navigation menu and choose a database by title from the A-Z List. In the pop-up window, you will be asked to choose an authentication method. Choose Blackboard and then enter your Blackboard Username and Password. OR: Log into Blackboard; click Library tab near top of page; click A-Z List of Databases; then select the database you wish to search.
(2) CAC option: From Library's home page on the INTERNET, https://usnwc.edu/learning-commons/, select Databases from the navigation menu and choose a database by title from the A-Z List. In the pop-up window, you will be asked to choose an authentication method. Ensure that your CAC is in the CAC reader. Choose CAC and follow the screen directions. You will be ready to search the database you selected.
Please see a Reference Librarian for further information.
In addition to the sources within this Research Guide, the Naval War College also has a library dedicated to leadership and ethics issues. The Stockdale Leadership Library is located in Luce 320 and contains approximately 800 volumes on leadership, professional ethics, civilian-military relations, personality, adult learning, and related topics, as well as a collection of approximately 70 related DVDs. There is also a small reading area within the library for students and faculty. The curator for the Stockdale Leadership Library is CDR Darren McClurg.
