News You Can Use from the Eccles Library

EconLit from EBSCOhost is a reliable full-text database for economic research. The database covers:

• Capital Markets
• Country Studies
• Econometrics
• Economic Forecasting
• Environmental Economics 

Business Source Premier, also from EBSCOhost, features cited and full-text references for top journals
in the field of business. The database covers:

• Economics
• Management
• Marketing
• Management Information Systems
• Operations Management       

​These trials are available through 5/31/2020.  
Contact us at:  libref@usnwc.edu​                                                                                                         

Notes and news from the NWC Library for the week of March 23rd. 

Summon Power Search:
Summon is a very robust Google-like search that can assist you in booting up your
research. Use the following link to download the NWC Library's introduction to Summon:
https://usnwc.libguides.com/ld.php?content_id=40151891

Our New Panopto Instruction Video:
The NWC Library's new instructional video can be accessed at the following link. Blackboard
or CAC authentication is required.

https://usnwc.hosted.panopto.com/Panopto/Pages/Viewer.aspx?id=2da54ef9-26e6-4971-a01f-ab8400048c0b
​
Circulation Notes:
Two self-check machines work with your keytag to charge books to your account. They are
located on the main level between the service desk and the plaza, and on the lower level near 
the double doors. If you do not have a keytag, a lock-box with pieces of paper are provided next
to the machine on the main level.  Fill out the paper with the pertinent information and place the
paper into the box.  The circulation staff will process the item to your library account.

Library Staffing:
The library will be staffed with one person at a time. Staff members will be on rotating duty. 
Contact information for the person on duty will be available on the library's service desk on the
main level.  
 

Stay Connected:
The Blog: https://usnwc.libguides.com/blog/
Circulation:  circdesk@usnwc.edu
Classified Library:  classifiedlibrary@usnwc.edu
Facebook:  https://m.facebook.com/USNWCLibrary/
Reference:  libref@usnwc.edu

The EBSCOhost eBook database is a large collection of digital books that supports
curriculum and research at NWC.  It is accessed via the on the Learning Commons
homepage on the Databases A-Z list under the "E" selections.  

The best way for you to use EBSCO eBook content is to email sections to yourself as a
PDF.  You can keep these PDFs in your cloud storage for the duration of your specific class
at NWC, keeping in mind that they are covered by copyright fair use for educational purposes
and should not be disseminated out to your professional community at large.
 

These books can also be downloaded to a device.  To download an eBook from EBSCO, you
will need a personal account in EBSCO which you can establish by clicking into the "sign in"
link at the top-right of the database page.  Additionally, you will need a reader that works with
your particular device.  The duration of checkout for an EBSCO eBook is 7 days for NWC users. 
After this time period, the eBook will disappear from your device.   If a book is a "single user" 
title and it is checked out,  you can place a hold on it providing you have a personal user account
in EBSCO.  

Link here to the eBook collection.
​
The following links from EBSCO will help you learn how to use the eBook collection:
https://ebsco.libguides.com/ebooks/users
https://connect.ebsco.com/s/article/Downloading-EBSCO-eBooks-Tutorial?language=en_US

The NWC Reference Librarians are teleworking at this time. Contact: libref@usnwc.edu

The NWC Reference Librarians wish to assure you that we are available to answer your reference questions 
during our current uncharted and evolving situation. We will be doing most of our work in a teleworking 
status, and remain available to you via our group email, libref@usnwc.edu.  

If you are working with any of the reference staff,  Gina Brown, Andrea Groce, Isabel Lopes, or Julie Zecher, 
please copy in the libref group email in each communication so that your email will be seen in the event that 
one of us is unavailable. 

The Library Director, Dr. Allen Benson, has outlined the following guidelines regarding the library's services:

• Library staff on campus available by phone.  Contact information will be noted at the library's service
  desk and on the door of our offices on the mid-level.
• All online information resources and services remain fully operational.
• Library staff will be monitoring their email.

Reference Desk: 
Contact the reference staff at: libref@usnwc.edu

Circulation:

We are not processing any holds or recalls for print books in the collection.
Temporarily disregard auto-generated overdue notifications you may receive in email.
Contact the circulation staff at: circdesk@usnwc.edu

We are ceasing processing all “print book” Interlibrary loan lending and borrowing requests. Any requests
for print books that are currently in the pipeline will be processed. No new requests will be processed.
Electronic journal article requests will continue to be processed.

Contact the interlibrary loan staff at: ill@usnwc.edu

Classified Library:

Hours are reduced to M-F 12:30-4:30
Contact the classified library staff at:  classifiedlibrary@usnwc.edu

When you are working remotely, you can access the library via Blackboard. 
Login to Blackboard, then select the NWC Library from the toolbar at the top
of the page. 

Enter into the Henry E. Eccles Library--Naval War College to access the
NWC Library resources as if you were on campus. 

Use this link for a quick instruction sheet on accessing the library 
via Blackboard:  Accessing the NWC Library With Blackboard