Chicago Manual of Style: Books

Note

Zadie Smith, Swing Time (New York: Penguin Press, 2016), 315–16.

Shortened note

Smith, Swing Time, 320.

Bibliography

Smith, Zadie. Swing Time. New York: Penguin Press, 2016.

Note

Gabriel García Márquez, Love in the Time of Cholera, trans. Edith Grossman (London: Cape, 1988), 242–55.

Shortened note

García Márquez, Cholera, 33.

Bibliography

García Márquez, Gabriel. Love in the Time of Cholera. Translated by Edith Grossman. London: Cape, 1988.

Note

Brooke Borel, The Chicago Guide to Fact-Checking (Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 2016), 92, ProQuest Ebrary.

Shortened note

Borel, Fact-Checking, 104–5.

Bibliography

Borel, Brooke. The Chicago Guide to Fact-Checking. Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 2016. ProQuest Ebrary.

Note

Brooke Borel, The Chicago Guide to Fact-Checking, 3rd ed.(Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 2016), 92, ProQuest Ebrary.

Shortened note

Borel, Fact-Checking, 104–5.

Bibliography

Borel, Brooke. The Chicago Guide to Fact-Checking. Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 2016. ProQuest Ebrary.

Note

David Levering Lewis, W.E.B. Dubois, 1919-1963: The Fight for Equality and the American Century (New York: H. Holt and Company, 1993), 2:15.

Shortened Note

Lewis, W.E.B. Dubois, 15.

Bibliography

Lewis, David Levering. W.E.B. Dubois, 1919-1963: The Fight for Equality and the American Century. 2 vols. New York: H. Holt and Company, 1993.

See more information: Chicago Manual of Style 14.116-14.122

Note

Brian Grazer and Charles Fishman, A Curious Mind: The Secret to a Bigger Life (New York: Simon & Schuster, 2015), 12.

Shortened note

Grazer and Fishman, Curious Mind, 37.

Bibliography

Grazer, Brian, and Charles Fishman. A Curious Mind: The Secret to a Bigger Life. New York: Simon & Schuster, 2015.

Note

Jhumpa Lahiri, In Other Words, trans. Ann Goldstein (New York: Alfred A. Knopf, 2016), 146.

Shortened note

Lahiri, In Other Words, 184.

Bibliography 

Lahiri, Jhumpa. In Other Words. Translated by Ann Goldstein. New York: Alfred A. Knopf, 2016.

Note

Henry David Thoreau, “Walking,” in The Making of the American Essay, ed. John D’Agata (Minneapolis: Graywolf Press, 2016), 177–78.

Shortened note

Thoreau, “Walking,” 182.

Bibliography 

Thoreau, Henry David. “Walking.” In The Making of the American Essay, edited by John D’Agata, 167–95. Minneapolis: Graywolf Press, 2016.

Note

Tanya Khovanova, review of Military Strategy, by Edward Frenkel, Military History Journal 45, no. 3 (May 2014): 230, https://doi.org/10.4169/military.j.45.3.230.

Shortened Note

Khovanova, review of Military Strategy, 231. 

Bibliography 

Khovanova, Tanya. Review of Military Strategy, by Edward Frenkel. Military History Journal 45, no. 3 (May 2014): 230-231. https://doi.org/10.4169/military.j.45.3.230.

Note

World Health Organization, WHO Editorial Style Manual (Geneva: World Health Organization, 1993), 34. 

Shortened Note

World Health Organization, WHO Editorial Style, 34.

Bibliography

World Health Organization. WHO Editorial Style Manual. Geneva: World HealthOrganization, 1993.

Note

Julie Evans et al., Equal Subjects, Unequal Rights: Indigenous Peoples in British Settler Societies (Manchester: Manchester University Press, 2003), 54

Shortened note

Evans et al., Equal, 55

Bibliography

Evans, Julie, Patricia Grimshaw, David Philips, and Shurlee Swain. Equal Subjects, Unequal Rights: Indigenous Peoples in British Settler Societies. Manchester: Manchester University Press, 2003.

More than Ten Authors

For more than ten authors, list the first seven in the bibliography, followed by et al.

Note

Meghan Daum, ed., Selfish, Shallow, and Self-Absorbed: Sixteen Writers on the Decision Not to Have Kids (New York: Picador, 2015), 32.

Shortened note

Daum, Selfish, 134–35.

Bibliography

Daum, Meghan, ed. Selfish, Shallow, and Self-Absorbed: Sixteen Writers on the Decision Not to Have Kids. New York: Picador, 2015.

Note

John D’Agata, ed., The Making of the American Essay (Minneapolis: Graywolf Press, 2016), 177–79.

Shortened note

D’Agata, American Essay, 182.

Bibliography 

D’Agata, John, ed. The Making of the American Essay. Minneapolis: Graywolf Press, 2016.