Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Chicago Manual of Style: Introduction

Notes & Bibliography Style: Introduction

The Chicago Notes and Bibliography system is used in the humanities to provide writers with a system for referencing their sources through the use of footnotes, endnotes, and through the use of bibliography. 

Why Do You Need to Cite?

  • Identify other authors’ ideas and information used within your paper (avoid plagiarism).
  • Identify the sources you researched to support your argument.

Chicago Manual of Style

The Chicago Manual of Style, 17th edition, is a standardized citation format used in writing and provides guidelines to format and structure a research paper, cite authors' works, and create a bibliography. It has two citations styles:

  • Notes and Bibliography (NWC uses Notes & Bibliography style format)
    • This system uses numbered footnotes or endnotes. Each note corresponds to a raised (superscript) number in the text. Sources are also listed in a separate bibliography. 
  •  Author-Date
    • This system uses footnotes or endnotes and involves in-text citations using parenthetical references. 

Chicago Manual of Style Database

Accessible from on-campus or remotely through Blackboard log-in

  • Chicago Manual of Style Online

    A manual on style, grammar, usage, spelling, capitalization, hyphenation, and punctuation. Rules for crafting footnotes and compiling bibliographies for both print and electronic works