This research guide provides links to a broad range of resources on Ukraine, including books, databases, and journals. It was developed in support of the JMO curriculum and highlights resources available at the NWC Library.
Armed Conflict DatabaseInformation on conflicts throughout the world
Up-to-date analysis of over 70 conflicts
Background information and latest conflict development
Statistics include number of fatalities, weapons used, and economic costs
Annual reports on each conflict and regularly updated timelines
Homeland Security Digital LibraryThis link opens in a new windowHomeland security strategy, policy and research documents published by:
Federal, state and local government agencies
International governments and institutions
Research institutions, universities, think tanks
Military BalanceThis link opens in a new windowOnline version of the same title
Proquest Military DatabaseThe Military Collection provides full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, government publications, and more.
Terrorism Research & Analysis ConsortiumThis link opens in a new windowTerrorism Research & Analysis Consortium (TRAC) is a comprehensive resource for the study of political violence of all kinds. TRAC provides researchers in the fields of terrorism studies, political science, international relations, sociology, criminal justice, philosophy and history with content that enables intellectual clarity on a highly complex topic.
-- Core analyses of 3,800 groups that have been known to aid and abet political violence or terrorist organizations.
-- Original, commissioned analyses of seminal terrorism topics.
-- Profiles of vulnerable regions and cities mostly likely to attract terrorist incidents.
-- Live intelligence repository: TRAC provides a publishing center for research of any length produced by its members.
-- TRAC continuously monitors important news and analysis sources and posts feeds to the site as events unfold.
-- Hot links that quickly navigate between concepts within articles, news feeds, and outside resources.
-- Access to political violence experts worldwide.
-- Hundreds of internet links to think tanks; government agencies; universities, community colleges and police academies offering courses in terrorism, criminal justice, and homeland security; government and private research centers.
PAIS InternationalThis link opens in a new windowPublic Affairs Information Service (PAIS) is the bibliographic index to the social sciences
References to journal articles and books
Governmental documents and reports
Reports from public and private organizations
Statistics and directories
Some of the references are in languages other than English. An associated database grouped with PAIS is the Periodical/Publisher Information Database that provides periodical and publisher information for documents found in the PAIS database.
Ukraine's Military Role in the Black Sea RegionCoffman, Amy Beth; Crump, James Andrew; Dickson, Robbi K.; Mueller, Meaghan; Pulis, Sarah L. (2010). Ukraine's Military Role in the Black Sea Region
Crimea, Global Rivalry, and the Vengeance of History by 
Ukraine's Military between East and West by 
