10 Leadership Virtues for Disruptive Times by 
Adaptive Capacity - Revised Second Edition by 
The Character Gap by 
Crucial Conversations: Tools for Talking When Stakes Are High, Third Edition by 
The Discover Your True North Fieldbook by 
An Evolutionary Psychology of Leader-Follower Relations by 
The Five Dysfunctions of a Team by 
Handbook of Leadership Theory and Practice by 
The Infinite Game by 
An Integrative Approach to Leader Development by 
Leadership on the Line, with a New Preface by 
Leadership Strategy and Tactics by 
Leadership Without Easy Answers by 
Lessons on Leadership by Terror by 
A Navy Admiral's Bronze Rules by
A Navy Admiral's Bronze Rules uses case studies to explore the inherent risks of leadership and the tools available to those who nevertheless wish to shoulder those responsibilities. Real world examples are used and inevitably expose hitherto unrevealed history. The latter includes a secret of the Yom Kippur War, the background of the 1986 bloodless revolution in the Philippines, how Admiral Bud Zumwalt was such a unique Chief of Naval Operations, why our National War Plan suddenly had to be revised during the Reagan years and what spurred President Clinton's anti-nuclear proliferation success. Rear Adm. Oliver sketches the problems a leader will routinely (and not-so routinely) face. He invites the reader to consider the attributes which will help best prepare them for future challenges. These thirty case studies demonstrate that few real leadership problems will yield to a "one-hammer" solution. No matter how good a practitioner may become with one leadership style, one knock-them-dead ability seldom serves to get a leader all the way through their problem or conflict. Adm. Oliver thus provides a range of tools for different personalities and situations. The potential leader thus has a range of solutions to fit the problem as well as an individual's personal comfort zone.
Never Eat Alone, Expanded and Updated by 
The New Psychology of Leadership by 
The Power of Positive Leadership by 
The Practice of Adaptive Leadership by 
Radical Candor: Fully Revised and Updated Edition by 
The Score Takes Care of Itself by 
Simple Habits for Complex Times by 
Streetlights and Shadows by 
Turn the Ship Around! by 
What Got You Here Won't Get You There by
This guide provides links to articles, books, news items, and other resources that contain information on leadership subject matter such as coaching and mentoring, decision making as a leader, organizational culture, and ethical leadership.
In addition to the sources within this Research Guide, the Naval War College also has a library dedicated to leadership and ethics issues. The Stockdale Leadership Library is located in Luce 320 and contains approximately 800 volumes on leadership, professional ethics, civilian-military relations, personality, adult learning, and related topics, as well as a collection of approximately 70 related DVDs. There is also a small reading area within the library for students and faculty.
Subject Specialist:
Dr. Leigh Ann Perry
Associate Professor of Psychology and Behavioral Science
College of Leadership and Ethics
Subject Librarian:
Andrea Groce
Research & Instruction Librarian
Note: Links to the NWC databases will work from off-site via the EZProxy for authorized users only.
(1) Via Blackboard: From Library's home page on the INTERNET, https://usnwc.edu/learning-commons/, select Databases from the navigation menu and choose a database by title from the A-Z List. In the pop-up window, you will be asked to choose an authentication method. Choose Blackboard and then enter your Blackboard Username and Password. OR: Log into Blackboard; click Library tab near top of page; click A-Z List of Databases; then select the database you wish to search.
(2) CAC option: From Library's home page on the INTERNET, https://usnwc.edu/learning-commons/, select Databases from the navigation menu and choose a database by title from the A-Z List. In the pop-up window, you will be asked to choose an authentication method. Ensure that your CAC is in the CAC reader. Choose CAC and follow the screen directions. You will be ready to search the database you selected.
Please see a Reference Librarian for further information.
