This is the "Home" page of the "Territorial Disputes: The South China Sea" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Territorial Disputes: The South China Sea   Tags: china sea, south china sea, south china sea conflict  

This LibGuide provides links to primary documents, reports, periodical articles, and books on disputes and state claims in the South China Sea.
Last Updated: Mar 18, 2014 URL: http://usnwc.libguides.com/SouthChinaSea Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

IMPORTANT!

Note: Links to the NWC databases will work from off-site via the EZProxy for authorized users only.

(1) Via Blackboard: From Library's home page on the INTERNET, http://www.usnwc.edu/Academics/Library.aspx, select Databases from the navigation menu and choose a database by title from the A-Z List. In the pop-up window, you will be asked to choose an authentication method.  Choose Blackboard and enter your username and password.  OR  Log onto Blackboard; click Library tab near top of page; click A-Z List of Databases; then select the database you wish to search.

(2) CAC option: From Library's home page on the INTERNET, http://www.usnwc.edu/Academics/Library.aspx, select Databases from the navigation menu and choose a database by title from the A-Z List. In the pop-up window, you will be asked to choose an authentication method. Ensure that your CAC is in the CAC reader. Choose CAC and follow the screen directions. You will be ready to search the database you selected.

Please see a Reference Librarian for further information. 

Also: Click the letter i for more information about a particular item.

 

Territorial Disputes in the South China Sea

Rivalry in the South China Sea revolves primarily around control of key shipping routes as well as competition for strategic resources, such as oil and gas reserves.  New laws passed by the legislature of Hainan Province declaring China's sovereignty over hundreds of islands in the South China Sea, and China's recent placement of the nine-dash map on its new passports, have done much to inflame passions of parties claiming sovereignty in that geographic area.

The South China Sea has been plagued by an increasing number of claims and disputes among states with an interest in exercising control over natural resources and the shipping routes through which roughly one third of global trade is carried, and these disputes have served to compromise the geopolitical stability of the region.

 

South China Sea Islands

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip