LibGuides: Nigeria: Home

Table of Contents/LOEs

Quick Reference

Africa South of the Sahara: Nigeria on the WWW: Nigeria Selected Internet Resources is an annotated directory of online resources about Africa.
BBC New Africa: Country Profile
CIA World Fact Book
The World Factbook provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities. Our Reference tab includes: maps of the major world regions, as well as Flags of the World, a Physical Map of the World, a Political Map of the World, and a Standard Time Zones of the World map.
Columbia Gazeteer of the World
Columbia University African Studies Internet Resources
Columbia University Libguide on Africa
Country Watch
Comprehensive and regularly updated reports
Embassy of the United States in Abuja
Information Please
Information Please is part of Pearson, the world’s largest integrated education company.
Jane's Sentinel Security Assessment-
UNDATA (United Nations Data Retrieval System)
The United Nations Statistics Division (UNSD) of the Department of Economic and Social Affairs (DESA) launched a new internet based data service for the global user community. It brings UN statistical databases within easy reach of users through a single entry point (http://data.un.org/). Users can now search and download a variety of statistical resources of the UN system.
World Savvy Monitor
The World Savvy Monitor is designed and written for educators, but is a universal tool for deepening content knowledge of world issues. It provides background, context, and perspectives to help understand the conversation in the global community.
Encyclopedia of Nations
The Encyclopedia of the Nations is a complete source for detailed information about one hundred ninety three countries in the world, information about the United Nations and the associated agencies, and World Leaders.

We have detailed information about physical geography of all countries: Afghanistan to Comoros, Congo to India, Indonesia to Mongolia, Morocco to Slovakia, Slovenia to Zimbabwe.

There is a section that focuses on the history and the development of the United Nati
U.S. Dept. of State Background Notes: NIgeria
Background Notes include facts about the land, people, history, government, political conditions, economy, and foreign relations of independent states, some dependencies, and areas of special sovereignty.
United States Institute of Peace
USIP is the independent, nonpartisan conflict management center created by Congress to prevent and mitigate international conflict without resorting to violence. USIP works to save lives, increase the government's ability to deal with conflicts before they escalate, reduce government costs, and enhance our national security.
Index Mundi
This site contains detailed country statistics, charts, and maps compiled from multiple sources.
Oxford Bibliographies: Nigeria

Searching

1. Keep it simple. Less is more. Simple, one or two word searches usually yield the broadest results.

2. Add relevant words to refine.

3. Try words that a website would use.

4. Use only the important words.

5. Search with an exact phrase and put quotation markes around words to search for an exact phrase in an exact order. Keep in mind that searches with quotes might exclude relevant results.

6. To increase the number of hits retrieved, you might consider using a truncation symbol, usually * . For example, if you enter Nigeri* the computer will pick up Nigeria, Nigerian, Nigeria's, Nigerians, Nigeriaworld.....

7. Search within a specific site. Precede your query with site:edu or site:nytimes.com.

8. Mine bibliographies for additional resources.

9. Ask a Reference Librarian! We are here to help. libref@usnwc.edu

Database and Research Assistance LibGuides

Help

For assistance

REFERENCE SERVICES

Four Ways to Get Research Help

Visit Us

@ the Reference Desk

Monday-Friday, 0800-1600

Call Us

401.856.5605

Email Us

libref@usnwc.edu

Ask a Librarian

http://usnwc.libanswers.com/