This is the "Home" page of the "China and Its Military" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

China and Its Military   Tags: asia, china, china & military, china relations, chinese defense, chinese military  

Along with links to full-text primary documents, this LibGuide provides links to information about China's armed forces found in books, databases and on Web sites, as well as facts, statistics, and maps relating to China’s military and national defense
Last Updated: Jul 25, 2013 URL: http://usnwc.libguides.com/content.php?pid=73080 Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

IMPORTANT!

Note: Links to the NWC databases will work from off-site via the EZProxy for authorized users only.

(1) Via Blackboard: From Library's home page on the INTERNET, http://www.usnwc.edu/Academics/Library.aspx, select Databases from the navigation menu and choose a database by title from the A-Z List. In the pop-up window, you will be asked to choose an authentication method. Choose Blackboard and then enter your Blackboard Username and Password.  OR: Log into Blackboard; click Library tab near top of page; click A-Z List of Databases; then select the database you wish to search.

(2) CAC option: From Library's home page on the INTERNET, http://www.usnwc.edu/Academics/Library.aspx, select Databases from the navigation menu and choose a database by title from the A-Z List. In the pop-up window, you will be asked to choose an authentication method. Ensure that your CAC is in the CAC reader. Choose CAC and follow the screen directions. You will be ready to search the database you selected.

Please see a Reference Librarian for further information.

 

China's Military

 ie   CHINA

Navy

ε215,000; 40,000 conscript (total 255,000)

The PLA Navy organises and commands maritime

operations conducted independently by its troops or

in support of maritime operations. The PLA Navy is

organised into five service arms: submarine, surface, naval

aviation, coastal defence and marine corps, as well as other

specialised units. There are three fleets, the Beihai Fleet

(North Sea), Donghai Fleet (East Sea) and Nanhai Fleet

(South Sea).

 The Military Balance 2011, p. 231, Ref UA 15 I5 2009
The Military Balance online:
http://www.informaworld.com/smpp/title~db=all~content=g934569189

Suggestions/Comments

Profile Image

Reference Librarian

   

Phone: (401) 841-6503

 

Introduction

China and Its Military

The FY 2000 National Defense Authorization Act mandated that an annual report be sent to Congress on the Military Power of the People’s Republic of China. That report, as well as China’s white papers on national defense and various official documents promulgated by Chinese government sources, give insights into what the United States knows about the military establishment in China.

Given its huge population, its growing economic presence in international trade and finance, and its increasing military capabilities, China is one of the major players on the world stage.  It has the world’s largest military force--one that is actively modernizing.

 

China’s land, sea, and air forces are embodied in the People’s Liberation Army (PLA), the military arm of China’s Communist Party. The PLA encompasses five main service branches: the PLA Ground Force, PLA Navy (PLAN), PLA Air Force (PLAAF), Second Artillery Corps (strategic nuclear or missile force), and the PLA Reserve Force.  China’s military policies and operational capacity merit careful attention as China becomes an ever more significant factor in world politics.

 

The Military Balance

 

RSS Feed

China Signpost

Prof. Andrew S. Erickson,

China Maritime Studies Institute,

Naval War College

Loading Loading...
blank padding
 

RSS Feed

China Brief:

The Jamestown Foundation

Loading Loading...
blank padding
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip