Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

College of Distance Education (CDE) Research Resources: JOURNAL ARTICLES

This Research Guide (libGuide) is intended for use by College of Distance Education (CDE) students. Its a guide to library resources for students who are studying offsite.

Online Collections

 

CDE students have access to ALL of the NWC online subscription electronic resources (with the exception of the Economist Intelligence Unit and Sea-Web) and may search those collections for articles from the periodical literature and for other information including, but not limited to, congressional testimony, biographies, statistics, book reviews, and translations from the foreign press.

On this page are:

·     Content descriptions for the most often used electronic resources

·     Reference guides for searching those resources

JSTOR

JSTOR is an archive of scholarly journal literature in the humanities.

  • Academic disciplines that include history, political science, and law, as well as Middle Eastern, Latin American, Asian, African, and Slavic studies
  • Content includes the first issuance of each journal title included in the database
  • Current to within the last 2-5 years

JSTOR has an interface that has eliminated the use of institutional usernames and passwords. JSTOR has established what is called "MyJSTOR page." The individual sets up his/her own account with a unique username and password. The directions follow: 

  • Click: My JSTOR.
  • You will be directed to the Login/Register for MyJSTOR page. 
  • Click Register for MyJSTOR link to go to the MyJSTOR Registration Page. 
  • Complete ALL required fields to register a unique username and password (answer all items preceded by a red asterisk (*) and place a check in the box indicating you will comply with the terms of use for this database). A unique email address is required, but  the email address may be of any type (Gmail, Hotmail, or a school-issued account, etc.).
  • Click Submit to register your account. You will be redirected to the new JSTOR main page where you may use JSTOR as usual.

 For subsequent access, users may go directly to JSTOR and select "Login" at the top of the page to enter JSTOR with their username and password. They may access JSTOR via this account from any location.

 

Primo VE Search

Primo VE Search is a Google-like search with access to both subscription-based and freely-accessible materials, including articles, books, and other resources available through the NWC Library. For more information, please consult the below Help Guide:

ProQuest

ProQuest is a collection of almost 5,000 periodical titles, most in full-text html or PDF format.

  •  Select the Military Collection module for articles in more than 100 military magazines and more than 500 periodicals related to defense and international affairs

Select Historical Newspapers for 19th-20th century newspapers. The resource offers full page and article images with searchable text going back to each newspaper's first issue.

  • Christian Science Monitor (1908--1991)
  • New York Times (1851--2001)
  • Wall Street Journal ( 1889--1987)
  • Washington Post (1877—1988)

NOTESearch NexisUni for current newspaper articles.

EBSCO

EBSCO Military & Government Collection

Military and defense related periodicals, pamphlets, and newsletters

  • Select Military & Government Collection (there are options to select Security and Counter Terrorism Reference Center and to search both databases simultaneously)
  • Search for a specific title or browse a particular periodical
  • Publications indexed in this database include Air Force Comptroller, Army Reserve Magazine, Defence Studies, Global Security Review, JFQ: Joint Force Quarterly, Military Technology, National Review, Combat Edge, FBI Law Enforcement Bulletin, Foreign Affairs, and Naval Forces

 

EBSCO International Security & Counter-Terrorism Reference Center

Intelligence, security, and counter-terrorism issues

  • Full text
  • Journal articles; reference material
  • Country reports, news feeds, and Web-based information on terrorism and security
  • Expert analyses and reports
  • Recent developments across the international political, military, economic, social and technical spectrum
  • Current biographies

Jane's Online

Jane's Online is a treasure trove of military and defense information.

  • Country by country internal and external security and threat assessments
  • Defense news and analysis
  • Order of battle information for armies, navies and air forces worldwide
  • Information on military systems and equipment
  • Geopolitical and terrorism intelligence

Note: Jane's Online includes the Terrorism & Insurgency Centre:

Terrorist news updated daily and allows for the tracking of terrorist activity by region or country.

  • Search by region, country, terrorist group, tactic, target type, scale of attack, and target ownership
  • Attack records include details of damage, casualty statistics, and historical trends
  • Records of statements by terrorist/insurgent groups
  • Indicators and warnings issued by government agencies
  • Latitude-longitude geo-codes provided for mapping terrorist attack/threat patterns

NexisUni

NexisUni

National and international newspapers; business and legal information

  • Articles from thousands of domestic and international newspapers
  • Transcripts from domestic and international news wire services and media reports
  • Newsletters and magazine articles, law review articles
  • Securities and Exchange Commission reports and filings
  • References to the medical literature via theMedline database

NoteFor defense & military-related magazine articles, it is best to search the ProQuest database.

Note: For access to LexisNexis Congressional and LexisNexis Statistical collections, find links in the lower left-hand corner of the LexisNexis Academic search screen.

‚Äč