Skip to main content

College of Distance Education (CDE) Research Resources: Home

This Research Guide (libGuide) is intended for use by College of Distance Education (CDE) students. Its a guide to library resources for students who are studying offsite.

IMPORTANT!

Note: Links to the NWC databases will work from off-site via the EZProxy for authorized users only.

(1) Via Blackboard: From Library's home page on the INTERNET, https://www.usnwc.edu/Learning-commons, select Databases from the navigation menu and choose a database by title from the A-Z List. In the pop-up window, you will be asked to choose an authentication method. Choose Blackboard and then enter your Blackboard Username and Password.  OR: Log into Blackboard; click Library tab near top of page; click A-Z List of Databases; then select the database you wish to search.

(2) CAC option: From Library's home page on the INTERNET, https://www.usnwc.edu/Learning-commons, select Databases from the navigation menu and choose a database by title from the A-Z List. In the pop-up window, you will be asked to choose an authentication method. Ensure that your CAC is in the CAC reader. Choose CAC and follow the screen directions. You will be ready to search the database you selected.

Please see a Reference Librarian for further information.

Library Guide

This  Research Guide is intended to help CDE students with their library research. Contact information is provided for both the College of Distance Education and the Naval War College Library. See boxes to the right for contact information.

 

 

Library Aids, Guides and Instruction

Below is a link to a guide entitled "Library Help, Guides and Instruction." The guide provides descriptions of online databases, as well as links to those databases and to reference guides for searching them. Key components of this guide are the captioned video tutorials. Each database or resource has a corresponding tutorial explaining its basic functions. 

Note:  Instructions on Interlibrary Loan within this guide are intended for onsite resident students only

Naval War College Library

NWC Library

Tel: (401) 841-3052

Email: libref@usnwc.edu

NWC, College of Distance Education

College of Distance Education

cde@usnwc.edu

Suggestions/Comments

   

 Contact us! 

U.S. Naval War College

 Reference Librarians

Email: libref@usnwc.edu

Telephone (comm.): (401) 841-3052

Visit:  M-F (0730-1630)