Help, Guides and Instructions: International Student Help

A combination of Encyclopedia Britannica and the Merriam-Webster Collegiate Dictionary & Thesaurus with access to magazines, periodicals, biographies, news, and more

This electronic resource offers full text of over 190 Canadian newspapers from Canada's leading publishers. This full text resource includes the complete available electronic backfile for most newspapers, providing full access to the articles, columns, editorials and features published in each. Some backfiles date as far back as the late 1970s.

Each week The Current Digest of the Chinese Press presents a digestible collection of articles from key Chinese newspapers on such topics as:

Politics, international relations, security, economics, business, public health, environment, education, culture and more.
Articles are selected from a wide variety of sources in China, all of which are explicitly targeted on a domestic – not foreign – audience.
Each article is carefully translated into English, with great attention given to conveying "the sense and spirit" of the Chinese text.

Four periodicals are included in the East View Information Services electronic resource:

The weekly Current Digest of the Russian Press contains Russian-language press materials translated into English from 1949- present.

International Affairs: A Russian Journal of World Politics, Diplomacy and International Relations, is published six times/year with issues from 1954 - present. It offers analysis of foreign policy and international security issues.

Military Thought: A Russian Journal of Military Theory and Strategy is a quarterly publication of the Russian Federation of the Ministry of Defense, 1992 - present, and contains articles on Russian military reform, tactics and strategy of modern combat, counterterrorist operations, and international security.

Jiefangjun Bao (PLA Daily) is the official newspaper of the People’s Liberation Army, the military of the People's Republic of China, and is searchable from 1965 - present. Written in Chinese only.

Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Reports, 1956 - 1996 is an archive of foreign broadcasts and news, translated into English from media sources outside the United States.

FBIS is a comprehensive and fully searchable full-text database of openly available news and reports from:
Middle East and North Africa East Asia
Near East and South Asia/ Latin America
South Asia/ Eastern Europe
China/ Soviet Union & Central Eurasia
Asia and the Pacific/ Western Europe
Sub-Saharan Africa

A weekly publication, the Globalist, Naval War College Executive Edition, explores new trends and risks emerging in the global economy and looks closely at the agendas of pivotal nations and other forces that shape interactions between key global players.

Quick factual inputs; leading-edge analysis; assumption-challenging perspectives;out-of-the-box thinking; thought-provoking features
Information from more than 200 sources, ranging from leading newspapers and magazines to important government agencies, NGOs and think tanks

International news and reports

Politics, economics, culture, business, science, technology, and the environment
Translated into English from foreign broadcasts, news agency transmissions, wire services, newspapers, magazines, and government documents
Africa, Asia, Europe, the former Soviet Union, the Pacific Rim, Central and South America, and the Middle East
Content: 1996 to present

This collection features English translations of foreign-language monographs, reports, serials, journal and newspaper articles, and radio and television broadcasts from regions throughout the world. It contains a wealth of hard-to-find scientific, technical, and social science materials translated from many languages.

Political and economic intelligence on Latin America.

Content: Access to the newsletter Latin American Weekly Report and the Latin American Security & Strategic Review

NOTE: NWC only has a 1-license subscription. If you can not get in, please check back later.

National and international newspapers; business and legal information

Articles from thousands of domestic and international newspapers
Transcripts from domestic and international news wire services and media reports
Newsletters and magazine articles, law review articles
Securities and Exchange Commission reports and filings
References to the medical literature via the Medline database

19th to early 20th century newspapers

Boston Globe (1872-1982)
Christian Science Monitor (1908--1991)
Chicago Tribune (1849-1990)
Los Angeles Times (1881-1990)
New York Times (1851--2001)
Wall Street Journal ( 1889--1987)
Washington Post (1877—1988)

The collection offers full page and article images with searchable text going back to each newspaper's first issue.
The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.

This resource contains detailed indexing to help users quickly find the news information they need. Each issue of each newspaper is indexed thoroughly, so researchers have access to not only top news stories but also the information contained on the various sections of the papers. The indexing covers not only complete bibliographic information but also companies, people, products, etc.

Access to the Baltimore Sun, Chicago tribune, Greenwich Time, Hartford Courant, Los Angeles Times, Morning Call, Newport News, Newsday, Orlando Sentinel, ProQuest Newsstand, Sun Sentinel, and The Advocate (Stamford).

200 years of the Times (London)

News articles, parliamentary reports, editorial opinion, obituaries, photos, advertising and classifieds.
Keyword and relevance searching
Browse by date feature allows you to find an individual issue of the newspaper and read through, page by page

Current issues of the Wall Street Journal can be accessed two ways:

1.Through the ProQuest collection (this link), accessed on campus, through Blackboard, or CAC authenticated

2. Through the online version (WSJ.com link listed below), which can be accessed anywhere, anytime with a personal account

This link accesses the ProQuest version of the newspaper, with comprehensive coverage back to 1984 available from the world's leading financial newspaper.

World Politics Review (WPR) is a daily, online publication and resource for foreign policy professionals and readers with a serious interest in international politics and foreign affairs.