Handbook of Military Psychology by 
Living and Surviving in Harm's Way by 
Military Psychologists' Desk Reference by 
Military Psychology, Second Edition by 
Odysseus in America: Combat Trauma and the Trials of Homecoming by 
Once a Warrior, Always a Warrior by 
The Oxford Handbook of Military Psychology by 
The Psychological Impact of War Trauma on Civilians by 
The Routledge International Handbook of Military Psychology and Mental Health by 
Secondary Trauma and Burnout in Military Behavioral Health Providers by 
Stress and Performance by Modern War Institute, April 2018.
Service members coming back from deployments in war zones, most notably from recent tours in Iraq and Afghanistan, often return home with so-called "hidden injuries of war," wounds that are psychological rather than just physical in nature. Often, their problems pose a wide array of cognitive and health challenges, manifested by bouts of anxiety, depression, and substance abuse, and sometimes by suicide. Diagnoses run the gamut from mTBI (mild Traumatic Brain Injury) to PTSD (Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder). Programs in both the civilian and military sectors support the returning veterans by teaching strategies that strive to foster psychological resilience.
This LibGuide provides links to online sources of information relating to problems encountered by returning troops, research being done to better understand and treat war-related psychological issues, and efforts being made on behalf of veterans so that they can better cope with stress and adapt to civilian life.
PTSD News
TBI News
Domestic Violence News
Subject Specialist:
Dr. Leigh Ann Perry
Associate Professor of Psychology and Behavioral Science
College of Leadership and Ethics
Subject Librarian:
Andrea Groce
Research & Instruction Librarian
Note: Links to the NWC databases will work from off-site via the EZProxy for authorized users only.
(1) Via Blackboard: From Library's home page on the INTERNET, https://usnwc.edu/learning-commons/, select Databases from the navigation menu and choose a database by title from the A-Z List. In the pop-up window, you will be asked to choose an authentication method. Choose Blackboard and then enter your Blackboard Username and Password. OR: Log into Blackboard; click Library tab near top of page; click A-Z List of Databases; then select the database you wish to search.
(2) CAC option: From Library's home page on the INTERNET, https://usnwc.edu/learning-commons/, select Databases from the navigation menu and choose a database by title from the A-Z List. In the pop-up window, you will be asked to choose an authentication method. Ensure that your CAC is in the CAC reader. Choose CAC and follow the screen directions. You will be ready to search the database you selected.
Please see a Reference Librarian for further information.
