LibGuides: Philippines/South China Sea: Maps

United Nations Maps

International Human Development Indicators Map
UN Cartographic Section General and thematic maps
UNITAR (United Nations Institute for Training and Research) UNITAR supports programe areas including an environment unit; a governance unit; a peace, security and diplomacy unit and a research unit.
UN Map Library

Other Map Sites

Map collections are offered courtesy of the host provider. When planning to use maps as part of a presentation or within a research paper, it is required that proper credit be given. Most of the map collections have information sections with permission guidelines. Please read the information regarding use of maps on each web site.

Atlapedia
Columbia Gazetteer of the World A comprehensive geographical dictionary Brief descriptions and lists of geographical places and physical features around the globe Includes: The political world—major geographic regions, states, cities, villages, neighborhoods, and special districts The physical world—continents, oceans, lakes, islands, peninsulas, atolls, mountains, canyons, deserts, valleys, glaciers, and volcanoes Special places—national parks, monuments, historic and archeological sites, airports, dams, nuclear plants, mines, stadiums, and military bases.
EUROPA World Plus Regional and country information Country history, geography, economics, government, society & media and business & commerce Comparative statistics on area, population, agriculture, industry and finance for specific countries In-depth information on the United Nations and its related bodies as well as on approximately 60 other major organizations
Index Mundi
The Library of Congress Geography and Map Reading Room
National Defense University Map Collection A guide to map resources on the internet. Prepared by the NDU Library staff in support of the courses, conferences, and research requirements of the National Defense University.
National Oceanic & Atmospheric Administration
Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection - Large collection of public domain country, city and thematic maps presented as gif or jpeg files, provided by the University of Texas.
World Atlas
World Press

The Philippines

According to The World Factbook, the Philippines is slightly less than twice the size of Georgia, and slightly larger than Arizona. The Philippine archipelago is made up of 7,107 islands; favorably located in relation to many of Southeast Asia's main water bodies: the South China Sea, Philippine Sea, Sulu Sea, Celebes Sea, and Luzon Strait.

Southeast Asia

Global Crisis and Disaster Maps

ReliefWeb- Philippines Filter maps by organization, organization type, theme, format, disaster type, vulnerable group, and language. ReliefWeb is the leading humanitarian information source on global crises and disasters. It is a specialized digital service of the UN Office for the Coordination of Humanitarian Affairs (OCHA). We provide reliable and timely information, enabling humanitarian workers to make informed decisions and to plan effective response. We collect and deliver key information, including the latest reports, maps and infographics and videos from trusted sources.