Copyright: Additional Copyright Resources & Tools

CENDI

• CENDI's Copyright Working Group
• CENDI's "FAQ: Copyright" (Revised 2017, PDF)
• CENDI's "Permissions: Best Practices for Government Agencies" (2014, PDF)

Fair Use

• ARL's Code of Best Practices in Fair Use for Academic and Research Libraries (2012)
• Compilation of Codes of Best Practices in Fair Use for other communities (Center for Media and Social Impact)
• Best Practices in Fair Use Compilation (American University Washington College of Law)

• Copyright Advisory Office at Columbia University provides a Copyright Quick Guide and several resources for determining fair use.
• Copyright Chat is a podcast dedicated to discussing important copyright matters. Sara Benson converses with experts from across the globe to engage the public with rights issues relevant to their daily lives.
• Copyright For The Rest of Us: A Guide For People Who Aren’t Lawyers (pdf eBook) by Marcia W. Keyser, Drake University
• Emory University Libraries' Scholarly Communications site reviews author agreements and book contracts, copyright questions, electronic theses and dissertations support, open access publication, and permissions.
• FAU Libraries' Copyright Series (videos and slides)
• Harvard University OGC's Copyright and Fair Use
• Illinois Library Copyright guides include Copyright Reference Guide, Author's Rights and Copyright, Copyright and Digitization of Library Materials, Copyright for Graduate Students: Theses and Dissertations, Copyright Guide for Undergraduate Journals, Copyright Instruction Library Guide, Course Materials and Copyright for Professors. and Copyright Resources for Music.
• MIT Libraries- Scholarly Communication Copyright Guide
• Oakland University Scholarly Communications site guides scholars in matters relating to scholarly communication, which we define as the formal and informal ways research and scholarly works are created, evaluated, disseminated, preserved, used, and transformed. 
• Ohio State University Copyright Resources Center offers a variety of resources that give a general overview of U.S. Copyright Law as well as several that focus on the public domain.
• Kansas State University Libraries' "Using Copyrighted and Library Content" Guide
• Stanford Libraries Copyright Reminder provides common campus situations revolving around copyright issues and appropriate actions, recommended practices with general advice, and a succinct overview of copyright law.
• Stanford Libraries Copyright & Fair Use Guide
• Teaching Copyright: The Electronic Frontier Foundation created this curriculum to help teachers educate students about copyright.
• University of California Office of Scholarly Communication covers current trends in scholarly communication and has a database tracking the vital statistics of over 3,000 major journals.
• University of Michigan Copyright Office gives a broad overview of copyright law from copyrightability, duration of copyright, permissions, to your rights as a user.
• From University of Michigan Library, please see Substantial Similarity Guide that illustrates the "substantial similarity" doctrine from U.S. copyright law, using a set of case summaries. Last updated February 9, 2018. Substantial similarity is a level of similarity that shows improper appropriation of the plaintiff’s work, one of the requirements for a prima facie infringement claim. If the similarity of the defendant’s work to protectable elements in the plaintiff’s work is minimal, or if similarity only exists with regard to unprotectable elements of the work, then there is no substantial similarity.
• University of Minnesota Copyright Services has a number of pages that teach the basics of copyright, helping you answer the questions, "Can I use this?" and "What do I own?"
• University of Texas Arlington Libraries Copyright and Fair Use Guide
• UPENN's The Online Books Page FAQ
• William & Mary Music Copyright Tutorial Videos: This three-part series of short videos explains the licensing system for copyrighted musical works and sound recordings.

• ALA's Copyright Tool
• "Can I Use It?" infographic from U.S. Copyright Office (PDF)
• Copyright Basics (U.S. Copyright Office)
• Copyright Term and the Public Domain in the United States chart (Cornell)
• Columbia's Fair Use Checklist (PDF)
• Cornell’s Legal Information Institute (LII) open law version of United States Code Title 17
• View the full text of U.S. Copyright Law (U.S. Code: Title 17. Copyrights)

• ALA Policy on Copyright: Summary of Positions 
• ALA's CopyTalk Webinars
• ALA's Correspondence Archive
• ALA Descriptions
  • Digital Millennium Copyright Act
  • Teach Act
• ARL's Know Your Copyrights
• Copyright Crash Course (University of Texas Libraries)
  • Copyright Crash Course for Higher Education Resource Printouts
• Copyright.gov Modernization site (goals to modernize)
• Electronic Frontier Foundation (EFF) (mission to ensure that technology supports freedom, justice, and innovation for all people of the world)
• Harvard University's Berkman Klein Center's Copyright for Librarians (Lecture modules) includes 9 modules and hyperlinked glossary.
• International Federation of Library Associations and Institutions (IFLA) (not-for-profit international body representing the interests of people who rely on libraries and information professionals)
• Journal of Copyright in Education and Librarianship (Creative Commons licensed)
• Library Copyright Alliance
• LYRASIS Copyright Programming
• OCEAN: Open Copyright Education Advisory Network 
• Opinions of the Supreme Court of the United States contains "several types of writing by the Justices." "Updated PDF versions of the opinions are posted on this website as the publication process proceeds."
• The Scholarly Communication Notebook
• UPENN's FAQ: Putting Books Online
• U.S. Copyright Office's Official YouTube Channel
• World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO) (a United Nations agency created to promote and protect intellectual property across the world by cooperating with countries as well as international organizations)