Skip to main content

Help, Guides and Instructions: Persistent Links/Permalinks

This Research Guide helps patrons of the NWC Library make the most of their library experience by introducing important databases and resources available to them. It serves as a starting place to learn how to use the library online catalog and databases.

What Are Persistent Links/Permalinks (PURLs)?

Persistent Links, also known as PermalinksPURLs, or Stable URL’s, are URL’s that link directly to electronic resources such as journal articles, ebooks, or databases.  These links remain stable and consistently connect to specific resources like the ones mentioned above.  It is critical to include persistent links while steering students to materials in course syllabi, within learning management systems such as Blackboard, or within a e-Reserves system.  This will create an easy and seamless way for students to access online materials without any problems or interruptions. 

Linking to Journal Articles

Most  journal databases have an icon for persistent links somewhere on the page of the article.  Often times this icon is a clipboard image or a chain link image.  Clicking on the icon will create the persistent URL for that particular resource.

Below are instructions on finding persistent links in the Naval War College Library’s most used databases and also in Summon Power Search:


What if the database I found an article in doesn’t have a persistent link icon?

Many databases do not have an easily available persistent link.  Many times you can find a stable URL listed in the abstract of an article, on the bottom of the page where it lists the location the article was retrieved from, or through a DOI—which is a unique alphanumeric string assigned to an individual digital object.  If none of these options are evident in a database, simply copy and paste the URL in the web address box—just keep in mind that this URL may not stay stable over a long period of time.

Linking to Databases

There may be instances where you would like to link to specific databases in general,  without linking to a specific article.  To create a persistent link to a database:

  • Click on the "Database A-Z" link on the library homepage.


  • Find the database in the A to Z list.  Click on the "share"   icon to copy and paste the persistent link for the database.

Linking to Items in Summon Power Search

To link to items in the results page of a search in Summon Power Search, you must:

  • Search and find items in Summon
  • Once you find the item you are interested in, click on the "Permanent Link" icon to copy and paste the persistent link:

Linking to Items in the Catalog

For linking to items in the Classic Library Catalog, follow the steps below:

  • Search and find an item in the Classic Catalog
  • Once in the item record, click on "Link to Page" to copy and paste the persistent link:


Tutorial: How to Find Journal Article Permalinks

Questions? We are Here to Help!

Visit Us

 At the Service Desk

 Monday-Friday, 0730-1630


Call Us

401.841.3052 or 401.841.4551


Email Us


Ask a  Librarian

SMS Phone (Text  us)